Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide is for English Composition 2 (ENGL 1102) taught by Dr. Mary McGinnis at College of Coastal Georgia. The course develops writing skills beyond the levels of proficiency required by English 1101, and emphasizes interpretation and evaluation, and incorporates a variety of more advanced learning methods.
GALILEO has several databases with streaming video. These resources include documentaries, news segments, feature films, how-to videos, and more. Check out our guide Films in GALILEO for a list of databases.
A Conversation with Gender Non-Conforming, Gender Non-Binary Youth, directed by Anonymous, produced by Microtraining Associates (2017), in Alexander Street, a ProQuest database in GALILEO.
Find this film in Alexander Street, a ProQuest database in GALILEO. It features streaming documentaries and archival footage on the following topics and more:
Films on Demand is a GALILEO database with streaming documentaries, news, how-to videos, and more. The following is a selection of videos on the topic of oppression and social justice:
This photograph is by Matteo Paganelli, and we found it on Unsplash, a site that offers open-licensed images. Need images for your research paper or group project? Check out our guide, Finding Images.
Selected GALILEO Databases
Need help finding the right databases for your research paper or group project? GALILEO has a YouTube channel with videos that show you how to make the most of your searches. Watch Finding the Best Database in GALILEO.
Academic Search Complete
An EBSCOhost database with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals.
The U.S. Census Bureau offers comprehensive demographic data for the United States.
Civil Rights Digital Library
Digital Library of Georgia's database links to primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale.
Criminal Justice Database
ProQuest's Criminal Justice Database is a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.
Ethnographic Video Online, Vols. 1 & 2
Alexander Street by ProQuest provides 1,200 hours of documentaries, primary-source footage, and select feature films for the visual study of human culture and behavior.
ProQuest Central brings together 30 highly used ProQuest databases to create the largest single academic research resource.
Social Science Journals
ProQuest Social Science Journals includes over 570 titles, with more than 340 available in full text. Topics include addiction, urban studies, family studies, and international relations.
EBSCOhost's Sociological Collection provides information on all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture, and social structure.
This ProQuest database gives users access to the full-text of more than 310 journals in sociology and social work.
College of Coastal Georgia Library provides faculty, staff, and currently-enrolled students complimentary access to The New York Times online. Visit our Group Pass guide to learn how to activate your complimentary pass.
Selected Books & eBooks
GIL-Find is College of Coastal Georgia's online catalog, a database of both print and digital materials owned by the college. Some of the materials that may show up in your GIL-Find search results are in GALILEO. Examples include eBooks and streaming video. Can't find what you want at Coastal? Switch to University of System of Georgia (GIL Express) in the search box dropdown menu and search other institutions.
The Danger of a Single Story