Skip to main content

Anti-Oppression: Home

Introduction

This guide offers resources about oppression of various kinds in our society. This is not a comprehensive guide. If there are resources you would like to recommend for the guide, please submit a recommendation

What is Anti-Oppression?

"Anti-Oppression is a commitment to dismantle systematic violence inflicted on marginalized communities, often benefiting the powerful. This violence may be emotional, economic, physical, environmental, psychological, or generational."

From PAGE Anti-Oppression Guide.

Principle 1: Recognize your position in society.

Principle 2: Learn about oppressed peoples and unlearn oppressive values that the dominant culture has taught you.

Principle 3: Practice solidarity. 

Principle 4: Highlight the work of those who have been systematically marginalized.

Principle 5: Continue to learn, unlearn, and teach those around you.

Read the full 5 Principles here.

Special Thanks

Thank you to Robert Taylor, Acquisitions and Cataloging Librarian at Valdosta State University, for permission to borrow from the guide, Anti-Oppression

Selected Films

GALILEO has several databases with streaming video. These resources include documentaries, news segments, feature films, how-to videos, and more. Check out our guide Films in GALILEO for a list of databases.

A Conversation with Gender Non-Conforming, Gender Non-Binary Youthdirected by Anonymous, produced by Microtraining Associates (2017), in Alexander Street, a ProQuest database in GALILEO.

 

Alexander Street logo            

 

Find this film and may others in Alexander Street, a ProQuest database in GALILEO. It features streaming documentaries and archival footage on the following topics and more: 

 

Films on Demand logo

 

Films on Demand is a GALILEO database with streaming documentaries, news, how-to videos, and more. The following is a selection of videos on the topic of oppression and social justice:

Stock image of protesters crossing a bridge

Photo by Life Matters on Pexels. Discover more photos in our Finding Images guide.

White Privilege by Sociology Live! on YouTube

Selected Books

GIL-Find logo

 

GIL-Find is College of Coastal Georgia's online catalog, a database of both print and digital materials owned by the college library. Some materials in this list may be eBooks, and in those instances, you will see a link for Online Access. To access eBooks, you may be asked to log-in using your college credentials. Other materials in this list may not be in our library's collection but may be owned by another institution in the University System of Georgia. You may request those materials using GIL Express. Need help? Ask a librarian.

How to Outsmart Your Own Unconscious Bias by Valerie Alexander, TEDxPasedena on YouTube

Departments at College of Coastal Georgia

Organizations at College of Coastal Georgia

Below are multicultural and diversity organizations at Coastal. 

If there is a campus organization that should be included please let us know

Selected GALILEO Databases

GALILEO logo

The following GALILEO databases include resources on anti-oppression and social justice. GALILEO has a YouTube channel with videos that show you how to make the most of your searches. Watch Finding the Best Database in GALILEO.