CULN: Culinary Arts: 1103/1108/2109/2205 - (Steve Ingersoll) Course Tools: Home

An undertaking without parallel or precedent, this monumental volume encapsulates much of what is known of the history of food and nutrition. It constitutes a vast and essential chapter in the history of human health and culture. Ranging from the eating habits of our prehistoric ancestors to food-related policy issues we face today, this work covers the full spectrum of foods that have been hunted, gathered, cultivated, and domesticated; their nutritional make-up and uses; and their impact on cultures and demography. It offers a geographical perspective on the history and culture of food and drink and takes up subjects from food fads, prejudices, and taboos to questions of food toxins, additives, labelling, and entitlements. It culminates in a dictionary that identifies and sketches out brief histories of plant foods mentioned in the text - over 1,000 in all - and additionally supplies thousands of common names and synonyms for those foods.

Presented for the first time to the English-speaking public, here is the entire translation of Auguste Escoffier's masterpiece Le Guide Culinaire. Its basic principles are as valid today as when it was first published in 1903. It offers those who practice the art of cookery-whether they be professional chefs or managers, housewives, gourmets or students of haute cuisine-invaluable guidelines culled from more than fifty years' experience.

'The Book of Yields' is a comprehensive collection of accurate food measurements for over 900 practical foods. The book is organized by food type and measurements reflect the way specific foods are typically measured in recipes.

From the earliest times, humans have enjoyed dining and entertainment with family and friends, from sharing a simple meal to an extravagant feast for a special celebration. In this two-volume set, entries tell the history of wedding and religious customs, holidays such as Thanksgiving and Christmas, and modern day get togethers such as block parties and Superbowl parties. Providing a worldwide perspective on celebration, entries on topics such as Dim Sum, La Quinceanera Parties, Deepavali, and Juneteenth cover many cultures. In addition, entries on Ancient Rome, Medieval entertaining, and others give an inside view as to what entertaining was like during those times, should readers want to recreate these themes for school projects or club banquets. Whether a student of history or world language class, or an adult planning a theme party, there is something in "Entertaining from Ancient Rome to the Super Bowl" for everyone.

This multicultural and interdisciplinary reference brings a fresh social and cultural perspective to the global history of food, foodstuffs, and cultural exchange from the age of discovery to contemporary times. Comprehensive in scope, this two-volume encyclopedia covers agriculture and industry, food preparation and regional cuisines, science and technology, nutrition and health, and trade and commerce, as well as key contemporary issues such as famine relief, farm subsidies, food safety, and the organic movement. Articles also include specific foodstuffs such as chocolate, potatoes, and tomatoes; topics such as Mediterranean diet and the Spice Route; and pivotal figures such as Marco Polo, Columbus, and Catherine de' Medici. Special features include: dozens of recipes representing different historic periods and cuisines of the world; listing of herbal foods and uses; and a chronology of key events/people in food history.

"Larousse Gastronomique" has been the foremost resource of culinary knowledge since its initial publication in 1938. Long revered for its encyclopedic entries on everything from cooking techniques, ingredients, and recipes to equipment, food histories, and culinary biographies, it is the one book every professional chef and avid home cook must have on his or her kitchen shelf. In fact, Julia Child once wrote, "If I were allowed only one reference book in my library, "Larousse Gastronomique "would be it, without question." The culinary landscape has changed dramatically in the last decade, prompting a complete revision of this classic work. "Larousse Gastronomique" has now been updated to add the latest advancements that have forever changed the way we cook, including modern technological methods, such as sous-vide cooking and molecular gastronomy. All-new color ingredient-identification photographs give this edition a fresh, elegant look. And for the first time, "Larousse" features more than 400 reportage photos-candid images of upscale restaurants from around the world-that give behind-the-scenes access into the kitchens where the finest food is created. Dozens of new biographies of people who have made significant contributions to the food world debut in this revision, including such luminaries as Ferran Adria, Daniel Boulud, Alice Waters, Gaston Lenotre, Thomas Keller, James Beard, and Julia Child. With entries arranged in encyclopedic fashion, "Larousse Gastronomique" is not only incredibly user-friendly, but it is also a fantastic read for anyone who loves food. Skip from Roasting to Robert (a classic French sauce), and then to Robiola (the Italian cheese); or go from Sake to Salad-with dozens of recipes-and on to Salamander, a type of oven used in professional kitchens for caramelizing (and named after the legendary fire-resistant animal). An index at the end of the book of all 3,800 recipes for cuisines from around the world makes it easy to find a myriad of preparations for any ingredient (eggs or chicken, for example) or type of dish (such as cakes or sauces). The unparalleled depth and breadth of information-from the traditional to the cutting-edge-make this newest edition of "Larousse Gastronomique" indispensable for every cook.

Food is an intrinsic part of every society, but recently it has become a source of worry for many Americans and government officials. It has been estimated that more than 76 million people in the United States—more than a quarter of the population—suffer from food poisoning each year. There also lurks potential for food contamination from food brought in from other countries, as well as threats of bioterrorism. Despite these risks, most Americans take the safety of their food for granted and take very minimal precautions when preparing or handling food. New techniques to ensure food safety have emerged to deal with many of these problems, including genetic engineering of plants and animals to be resistant to disease; the radiation of food products to kill bacteria; the development of new food products, such as artificial sweeteners and fat substitutes; and eating only organic foods. However, these short-term solutions could pose long-term problems. Are these concerns overstated by health food advocates? Should Americans worry about food safety? Has the government failed to protect consumers from the risks of food-based diseases? Threats to Food Safety addresses these concerns and provides a wealth of essential, first-stop information on this important issue. This volume also includes a chronology; a glossary; a guide to further research; an annotated bibliography, an integral part of the Library in a Book series; appendixes; and an index. This resource acts as a useful reference for students, teachers, health officials, and general readers who are interested in the safety of our food supply.

We currently live in an increasingly litigious society, and the legal and practical risks associated with food safety are becoming complex and significant areas of concern for health officers and food business owners. This book is a detailed and comprehensive guide to the field of study, fully up-to-date with all the latest developments in UK and European legislation. With an extensive topic-by-topic index format, this book will prove an accessible source of reference for all food-related queries. The author explains how best to conform to regulations and offers relevant practical advice under each topic heading.