CULN: Culinary Arts: 1103/1108/2109/2205 - (Steve Ingersoll) Course Tools: Books and E-Books

Next to their knives, the tool America's top chefs have used to learn their cooking skills. The Professional Chef, the official text of The Culinary Institute of America's culinary degree program, has taught tens of thousands of chefs the techniques and fundamentals that have launched their careers. only teaches the reader how, but is designed to reflect why the CIA methods are the gold standard for chefs. With lavish, four-color photography and clear, instructive text, The Professional Chef, Seventh Edition guides culinary students--professional aspirants and serious home cooks, alike--to mastery of the kitchen. Over 660 classic and contemporary recipes, with almost 200 variations, were chosen especially for their use of fundamental techniques. These techniques and recipes form a foundation from which a professional chef or home cook can build a personal repertoire. Sauces, and Soups; Meats, Poultry, Fish, and Shellfish; Vegetables, Potatoes, Grains, and Legumes, Pasta and Dumplings; Breakfast and Garde Manger; Baking and Pastry. In addition to a comprehensive treatment of techniques and recipes, The Professional Chef, Seventh Edition teaches readers other critical elements of the professional chef's domain--much of it universally applicable to any kitchen. From An Introduction to the Professional, to the identification of tools and ingredients, to nutrition, food science and food and kitchen safety, the book is a wealth of beautifully presented information useful for any cook. influential training school for professional cooks by Time magazine. The Professional Chef, Seventh Edition, the cornerstone of its program in book form, belongs on the shelf of every serious cook. founded in 1946. Known as the Harvard of cooking schools, and credited with having changed the way Americans eat by the James Beard Foundation, CIA has trained tens of thousands of foodservice professionals.

The ways of life of four great ancient civilizations-- Egyptian, Greek, Roman, and Celtic--are illuminated here through their foodways. As these cultures moved toward settled agriculture, a time of experimentation and learning began. Cities emerged, and with them consumer societies that needed to be supplied. "Food Culture in the Ancient World" draws on writings of classical authors such as Petronius, Galen, and Cato, as well as on archeological findings, to present intimate insight into ancient peoples. This volume will be indispensable as it complements classical history, cultural, and literature studies at the high school and college levels and will also inform the general reader. The book begins with an overview of the civilizations and their agricultural practices and trade. A full discussion of available foodstuffs describes the discovery, emergence, usage, and appraisals of a host of ingredients. A subsequent chapter covers food by civilization. Chapters on food preparation, the food professions, and eating habits provide a fascinating look at the social structure, with slaves and women preparing and serving food. Accounts of the gatherings of slaves and freedmen in taverns, inns, and bars and the notorious banquet, symposium, feast, and convivium of the elite are particularly intriguing and crucial to understanding male society. Other aspects of ancient life brought to life for the reader include food for soldiers, food in religious and funerary practices, and concepts of diet and nutrition. Many Classical recipes are interspersed with the text, along with illustrations.

New light is shed on everyday life in the Middle Ages in Great Britain and continental Europe through this unique survey of its food culture.

"What follows is insight into, and details of, what makes each American culinary region unique. Once you prepare these dishes and take a bite, the flavors and tastes will reinforce everything you read. It's a history, anthropology, and cooking class all in one " --From the Foreword by Chef Martin Yan, TV host of Yan Can Cook This remarkable new edition of American Regional Cuisine celebrates the diversity, distinction, and delectable essences of American cooking--from New England Clam Chowder to Carolina Pulled Pork Barbecue, from Floribbean Grouper with Black Bean, Jicama, and Corn Salsa to San Francisco Cioppino. This Second Edition features a wealth of fascinating history about each region, and more than forty color photographs showing cooking techniques and finished dishes. American Regional Cuisine, Second Edition is both a goldmine of attention-getting recipes and a guidebook to the finest regional American cooking. It features over 250 savory and sweet recipes of the most popular and memorable dishes from eleven regional culinary traditions--including Cajun and Creole cuisine, Tex-Mex cuisine, and the cuisines of California and Hawaii. Organized by region, these recipes are drawn from every part of the menu, offering a range of complete meals for each culinary style. Everyone from professional chefs and culinary students to serious home cooks will find that the clear, easy-to-follow instructions leave nothing to chance when preparing these mouthwatering recipes.

Practical Professional Cookery is recognised throughout the English-speaking world as the established source of recipes for both students and professionals. Practical Professional Cookery covers the full range of work from the most basic dishes to those requiring advanced techniques. Each recipe is presented in a stepped, easy-to-follow format. This revised third edition has been updated with the inclusion of more international, particularly Australian, food and terminology.

A Taste for Writing: Composition for Culinarians is the first composition and grammar textbook created specifically for culinary students. The first 19 chapters include thorough explanations of each stage of the writing process; chapters on the rhetorical modes, research, and business writing; and a chapter for ESL students. The second half of the text covers the parts of speech and basic grammar, plus special chapters on verbs, pronouns, modifiers, parallelism, punctuation, spelling, and commonly misused words. Writing often has to do with storytelling, and A Taste for Writing exemplifies this by using stories from film and television that will help the student relate to the concepts. The explanations are as visual and hands-on as possible and the text includes 50 photographs of culinary students and over 100 charts and diagrams that organize and illustrate key concepts. The highly visual text, hands-on activities, and samples of student writing make the concepts well accessible to students and professionals alike

Featuring more than 1,300 colour illustrations on 460 pages as well as numerous authentic recipes make even just reading this book an experience for the palate.

Each individual volume is a true treasure trove of information: discover the wealth of specialities in the featured countries and their regions, learn about the traditions and distinctive peculiarities of the various cuisines--and be inspired to achieve your own sumptuous culinary highlights.

A concise, colorful resource for both the novice cook and experienced chef This comprehensive, highly illustrated book is chock-full of enlightening and eye-opening culinary information, covering a vast range of topics that teach readers what they need to know to be successful in the kitchen--from cooking techniques and equipment to essential ingredients. "Le Cordon Bleu Kitchen Essentials" offers expert guidance on everything from choosing pots and pans to deboning poultry to storing ingredients--as well as logical solutions to common mistakes. The easy-to-follow text, clearly defined terms, and uncommonly helpful tips make this reference a must-have for all modern kitchens. It demonstrates techniques with 1,100 step-by-step color photographs. Plus, the book outlines the vast range of equipment, along with buying tips and cleaning and care information. "Le Cordon Bleu Kitchen Essentials" illustrates the cleaning and preparation of food, as well as cooking times and features classic recipes to teach the principal uses of each ingredient. Le Cordon Bleu provides expert training in cuisine, pastry, and baking. Through its six schools, a student body of over fifty nationalities, and a distinguished team of thirty international Master Chefs, Le Cordon Bleu is dedicated to preserving and passing on the mastery and appreciation of the culinary arts.

Written by two former instructors at The Culinary Institute of America, this revised and updated guide is an indispensable math resource for foodservice professionals everywhere. Covering topics such as calculating yield percent, determining portion costs, changing recipe yields, and converting between metric and U.S. measures, it offers a review of math basics, easy-to-follow lessons, detailed examples, and newly revised practice problems in every chapter.

American Culinary Federation?s Guide to Culinary Certification is the essential guide to obtaining the credentials awarded to cooks and chefs, including pastry cooks and chefs, denoting a sophisticated level of industry experience and professional education rigorously evaluated by the American Culinary Federation (ACF). Written by the certifying body of the ACF, this invaluable resource is the only authoritative guide to its certification process. It features clear explanations of specific skills tested at all five certification levels, advice for passing every certification level, and helpful exam-taking tips. American Culinary Federation?s Guide to Culinary Certification is the authority on gaining acceptance into the most comprehensive certification program for chefs in the United States. It?s a must-have for career-minded cooks and chefs hungry for renown in the industry.

The reference of choice for thousands of pastry chefs and home cooks A favorite of pastry lovers and serious chefs worldwide, The Professional Pastry Chef presents comprehensive coverage of basic baking and pastry techniques in a fresh and approachable way. Now skillfully revised and redesigned to meet the needs of today's pastry kitchen, this classic reference is better-and easier to use-than ever. The new edition contains more than 650 recipes, which offer a new emphasis on American applications of European techniques with yields suitable for restaurant service or for entertaining at home. It shares encyclopedic guidance on everything from mise en place preparation and basic doughs to new chapters covering flatbreads, crackers, and homestyle desserts. Throughout, award-winning Executive Pastry Chef Bo Friberg explains not only how to perform procedures, but also the principles behind them, helping readers to build a firm foundation based on understanding rather than memorizing formulas. Illustrated step-by-step instructions demystify even the most complex techniques and presentations, while 100 vivid color photographs bring finished dishes to life with a sublime touch of visual inspiration. Whether used to develop skills or refine techniques, to gain or simply broaden a repertoire, The Professional Pastry Chef is filled with information and ideas for creating mouthwatering baked goods and tantalizing desserts-today and for years to come.

Extending the shelf-life of foods whilst maintaining safety and quality is a critical issue for the food industry. As a result there have been major developments in food preservation techniques, which are summarised in this authoritative collection. The first part of the book examines the key issue of maintaining safety as preservation methods become more varied and complex. The rest of the book looks both at individual technologies and how they are combined to achieve the right balance of safety, quality and shelf-life for particular products. Provides an authoritative review of the development of new and old food preservation technologies and the ways they can be combined to preserve particular foods Examines the emergence of a new generation of natural preservatives in response to consumer concerns about synthetic additives Includes chapters on natural antimicrobials, bacteriocins and antimicrobial enzymes, as well as developments in membrane filtration, ultrasound and high hydrostatic pressure

"Is It Safe to Eat?" clearly and carefully examines and clarifies the sometimes bewildering issues that we all can master so we can adjust our behavior to lead healthier, less anxiety-ridden lives. Noted food expert and author, Ian Shaw, also places the risks of food, food-born pathogens and food contaminants into the context of life's overall risks. His easily understandable, passionate, yet authoritative and informative book helps you get a handle on the key issues such as GM food, cancer-causing agents and agrochemicals, natural toxins, BSE, E. coli, and more. Shaw makes the case that enjoyment of food and eating is a benefit that far outweighs the risks, at least if everyone is aware of those risks and takes sensible measures to minimize them.

This kitchen classic from James Beard-a name synonymous with culinary excellence-is back in print in a handsome edition featuring 100 of Beard's favorite international recipes and in-depth information on pasta's origins. An indispensable resource from the dean of American cooking.

Based on Beard's 30 years of teaching experience, this volume is an authoritative kitchen reference featuring in-depth information on basic cooking techniques-from boiling, roasting, sautéing, and grilling to chilling and freezing. With recipes grouped according to their method of preparation, this practical cookbook is the definitive resource for all levels of culinary expertise.

Which comes first when mashing potatoes-the butter or the milk? What grade and grind of meat make the best hamburgers? How do you roast a turkey so the breast meat is as moist and juicy as the legs? For the tenderest muffins, should you use buttermilk, yogurt or milk? At what temperature should you cook prime rib for the most succulent results? Is it possible to create a fudgy, cakey, chewy brownie all in one? Most of us don't have time to figure out the answers to questions like these. We need somebody to do the work for us and get our favorite recipes just right. In this book, Pam Anderson, executive editor of the highly successful magazine Cook's Illustrated, does just that. Painstakingly conducting test after test, Anderson arrives at not only the best recipe but frequently the most convenient and sensible one: -- A simple formula for a stir-fry that can be varied with different combinations of meat, vegetables and sauces. -- French bread so easy it can be baked every day. -- Chicken pot pie for weeknights, made with chicken breast rather than whole chicken. -- Macaroni and cheese as effortless as boxed, but three times as satisfying. -- Pizza dough that rises in just one hour or throughout the day. -- A cobbler that can be prepared with dozens of different fruits, making it 40 desserts in one. More than 150 recipes in all, with dozens of step-by-step illustrations of techniques, comparisons of products and useful tips.

Enjoy over 475 family recipes from traditional Passover dishes like ""Best Matzo Balls"" to creative casseroles, soups, desserts and more.

For the past twenty years, in their wildly popular newspaper and cooking columns, Sheryl Julian and Julie Riven have been providing hundreds of thousands of cooks with recipes they can depend on. Now, in this long-awaited cookbook which is an essential reference for anyone who wants to get the most out of time in the kitchen, they present 250 of their favorites. From Roast Side of Salmon to Creamy Chocolate Tart, each dish is straightforward, contemporary, and elegant: home cooking at its best. Julian and Riven have an unerring sense of what busy people need: appetite-provoking nibbles that won't set back dinner preparations; easy meals for the time of day when the cook is most exhausted; impressive but relaxed dinners for company; simple side dishes; slow-cooked suppers served straight from the pot; weekend breakfasts that leave plenty of time for reading the paper; desserts anyone can master. It's all here in The Way We Cook: Appetizers: Spicy Pecans * Honey-Roasted Chicken Wings * Marinated Shrimp in White Wine Vinaigrette Salads: Eggless Caesar Salad * Wilted Spinach Salad * Cucumber and Red Onion Salad When You're in a Rush: Ten-Minute Bolognese * Pork Tenderloins with Caramelized Onions * Chicken Roasted on a Bed of Apples Dishes We Make All the Time: Chicken and Corn Chili * Yankee Pot Roast with Caramelized Vegetables * Old-Fashioned Vegetable Soup New Classics: Succotash with Seared Scallops * Chicken Pot Pie Good Enough for Company: Herb-Roasted Flattened Chicken * Ossobuco * Orange-Marinated Turkey Breast Simmering Pots: Spring Garden Stew * Portuguese Chicken Stew Sides: Asparagus Cooked for Two Minutes * Potato Crisps with Fresh Herbs * Casserole-Roasted Fall Vegetables Rise and Dine: Sour Cream Coffee Cake * Leek and Egg Frittata If You Love to Bake: Lemon Pudding Cake * Free-Form Apple Tart * Double-Chocolate Refrigerator Cookies

The ultimate quick-reference cost control resource for busy kitchens The Chef's Book of Formulas, Yields, and Sizes is a powerful tool for controlling food costs in any foodservice operation. Now in an updated third edition, this encyclopedic reference is packed with helpful, practical information, including kitchen yields for more than 2,000 ingredients listed by food groups, sample purchase quantities, suggested serving sizes, tips and tricks for working with various ingredients, and other helpful tools for getting the most out of any size budget. This Third Edition broadens the knowledge of seasoned chefs and novices alike with new material on 150 previously unlisted ingredients, as well as: Coverage of ingredients unique to Indian, Chinese, Latin, and Japanese cooking Information on caloric counts, nutrition, and seasonal foods Serving sizes accepted in most fine restaurants A versatile, exhaustive resource, the Chef's Book of Formulas, Yields, and Sizes also offers many informative, easy-to-read tables for quick access to facts on can and bottle sizes, weights and measures, steam table pan sizes, and table and tablecloth sizes, as well as more than fifty basic, large-quantity recipes for mousses, soups, dough, cakes, and much more. The Chef's Book of Formulas, Yields, and Sizes, Third Edition is absolutely indispensable for any foodservice professional who must calculate costs for inventory management or determine exact measurements for portion control.

Whether in the form of a passed hors d'oeuvre or canape or a small plated dish set at table, appetizers are used around the world to offer the first taste of a chef's cuisine and set the tone for the meal to follow. This extensive cookbook/reference offers hundreds of irresistible recipes for appetizers and small bites culled from the world's cuisines. It includes a chef's index by category and a chef's index by main ingredient.