Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Tutorials

Tutorials for Online Library Resources

Imagine you've found the perfect article for your research paper. However, when you sit down to begin writing, you can't remember where you found the article or who wrote it. Careful organization is vital to a successful research paper, and what works best for you might not work for someone else.

Take time to figure out how you plan to save articles and how you will find them again in GALILEO or online.  Most databases have a variety of tools to help you.

Google Drive — This tool in GALILEO helps you save your research to your Google Drive account.

Add to Folder — Create an account within the database. GALILEO and many individual databases offer this option. Then, sign in to the databases to save your research to folders. 

Print — Print the article or document.

Email — Send the article, document, or link via email.

Save — Save your research to your OneDrive folder or another folder on your own computer or device. When you click "Save," you should see instructions for saving. 

Cite — See the citation formats for various styles for your research paper. Always be careful when using database tools to generate citations. Verify the citation using style manuals or other library resources.

Export — Save and export the file for a different format.

Create Note — Pin a note to the article. (This tool may require you to create an account within the database and sign in.)

Permalink — A permalink or persistent link/URL helps you find the article again. Click "Permalink" and copy the full link. Do not copy the link in your browser. Include the permalink in your research notes and in citations where appropriate. 

Most databases will have these tools and more, but the way they look and their location on the page may vary from database to database. There are also citation management tools to help you keep track of your research.