Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books, Articles and More
Use this box below to search the CCGA's Library GIL Catalog of Books
The catalog is used to find out if the library owns the book you want and where it is located on the shelf.
Home Access Requires Current Galileo Password
American Government, generally falls under the general subject headings of Political Science. The subject is large enough to be inclusive of several other fields of study such as United States History and Law (see below).
The Library of Congress Classification system locates books on the library under the general call numbers listed below. The subject headings that appear below in bold may also be used to locate books in the library catalog as well as articles and other information in GALILEO. More specific subject headings may be useful depending on what topic you are researching.
E for United States History
F for General American History
J for Political Science
H for Social Science
K for Law
U-V for Military Science
Recommended Tutorial Resources
Recommended Reference Works In The CCGA Libraries
Encyclopedia of Politics by
Call Number: Ref. JA61 .E54 2005 (Main Campus Library)
Publication Date: 2005-03-17
Although the distinction between the politics of the left and the right is commonly assumed in the media and in treatments of political science and history, the terms are used so loosely that the student and the general reader are often confused: What exactly are the terms left and right supposed to imply? This two-volume Encyclopedia of Politics: The Left and the Right contains over 450 articles on individuals, movements, political parties, and ideological principles, with those usually thought of as left in the left-hand volume (Volume 1), and those considered on the right in the right-hand volume (Volume 2).
The Encyclopedia of Political Science by
Call Number: Ref JA61 .E513 2011 (Main Campus and Camden Center Libraries0
Publication Date: 2010-10-12
A 21st century approach to the study of politics. Political science needs a resource that serves as a core reference to the central ideas, concepts, and frameworks underlying the study of politics and that highlights the intersections of politics with other disciplines. The Encyclopedia of Political Science (TEPS) is designed to fill that need. It is the encyclopedia for political science in the twenty-first century. nbsp; Prepared with the assistance of the American Political Science Association (APSA), TEPS brings together a distinguished editorial board and over 600 distinguished and rising scholars to chronicle and assess the core issues that have long concerned students of politics. This comprehensive, multi-volume work traces the evolution of political theories, concepts, research frameworks, and political practices from across the world. As it examines the interplay of political ideas and processes, the encyclopedia also conveys the vitality and excitement of politics in practice. nbsp; Cognizant of the global nature of political ideas and movements, TEPS reflects a wide range of concepts and frameworks, both Western and non-Western, national and international. An authoritative survey of the state of politics and political science, this five- volume work consists of more than 1,500 A to Z signed entries by contributors from over 30 countries, including 300 overview articles or interpretive essays. nbsp; The encyclopedia supports all of the core undergraduate courses in political science: American government, comparative politics, international relations, public policy, public administration, political behavior, political theory, and political science methods. It will be an essential reference for all academic and public libraries. nbsp; Quick Facts Thematic Table of Contents that maps major subfields and topics in politics Over 1,500 A to Z entries Contributing essays from scholars across the globe Prepared with the assistance of the American Political Science Association
The Uniting States by
Call Number: Ref. JK2408 .U65 2004 (Main Campus and Camden Center Libraries)
Publication Date: 2004-06-01
For each of the 50 states in the United States, the journey to statehood was a unique & often difficult progress. Statehood could be contentious & in some cases citizens were given no chance to express an opinion at all. This work examines how each of the 50 states was brought into the Union.
Immigration and Asylum by
Call Number: Ref. JV6012 .I56 2005 (Camden Center Library)
Publication Date: 2005-06-21
A comprehensive and timely examination of the history and current status of immigrants and refugees-their stories, the events that led to their movement, and the place of these movements in contemporary history and politics.
Encyclopedia of American Government and Civics by
Call Number: Ref. JK9 .G46 2009 (Camden Center Library)
Publication Date: 2008-10-01
Designed to meet the needs of high school and college students as well as members of the general public seeking clear explanations of basic government and political topics, Encyclopedia of American Government and Civics is a comprehensive resource that is divided into nine sections containing more than 400 essay-length entries. Articles in this three-volume encyclopedia address not only basic subjects covered in the study of American government—from the Bill of Rights through voting processes—but a wide range of contemporary issues as well, such as abortion, capital punishment, and Social Security. Coverage includes: Articles of Confederation Bill of Rights Capital punishment Citizenship Democracy Education policy Electoral college Free enterprise Freedom of speech Globalization Home rule House of Representatives Impeachment Judicial review Lobbying Municipal government Nationalization North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) Opinion polls Right to privacy Senate Social Security State of the Union Town meeting.
The Statesman's Yearbook 2015 by
Call Number: Ref. JA51 .S7 2015 (Manin Campus and Camden Center Libraries)
Publication Date: 2014-08-06
THE STATESMAN'S YEARBOOK 2015 is a Core Collections Star Title, as awarded by EBSCO. This classic reference work presents a political, economic and social account of every country of the world together with facts and analysis. The 2015 edition includes: • Revised and updated biographical profiles of all current leaders • Extensive updates to country economic overviews • Expanded and updated historical introductions • Chronology of key political events from April 2013 to March 2014 • Comprehensive coverage of major international organizations • SPECIAL FEATURE: Barry Turner explores the origins of Magna Carta; also a constitutional timeline from the 11th century to the present day plus surprising facts • NEW: Statistics on current slavery worldwide • Detailed maps of all 194 countries Fun Facts Found in The Statesman's Yearbook: • There are 11 official languages in South Africa. • Bhutan has no traffic lights. • China is now home to over 60% of the world's ducks. • Moscow is the most populous agglomeration in Europe, with over 11.5 million inhabitants. • Bolivia produces more Brazil nuts than Brazil. THE EDITOR Author of over twenty books, most of which have a link to history and economics, Dr Barry Turner is the seventh editor in the 151-year history of The Statesman's Yearbook.
Encyclopedia of U. S. Campaigns, Elections, and Electoral Behavior by
Call Number: Ref. JK2281 .E53 2008 (Main Campus and Camden Center Libraries)
Publication Date: 2008-04-04
"Overall, a first-rate resource, and yes, pleasantly readable." --School Library Journal The Encyclopedia of U.S. Campaigns, Elections, and Electoral Behavior covers virtually everything one would want to know about American political campaigns. With more than 450 entries, these two comprehensive volumes present a significant array topics of campaigns, elections, and electoral behavior. The encyclopedia's diverse content shows that although the subject matter of campaigns, elections, and electoral behavior is inherently related, each topic has a distinct focus. Key Features Presents topics in a straightforward, easy-to-understand manner, intentionally avoiding unnecessary technical language Includes entries written by electoral behavior scholars from around the country Focuses on American campaigns, elections, and electoral behavior but also provides a culturally and politically diverse perspective of American democratic practices and institutions Offers a rich campaign history by looking at many colorful candidates, corrupt yet intriguing political machines, rapidly changing technologies, campaign organizations, and strategies Provides a description and scholarly analysis for all presidential elections, including state and general elections Presents and simplifies complicated election laws that govern federal, state, and local elections Examines various efforts throughout the decades to reform elections, especially from social upheaval and the resulting political realignments Includes extensive electoral research into the development of political opinions, attitudes, and ideologies in American voters Key Themes Ballot Issue Campaigns Campaigns, Elections and the Law Corruption in American Campaigns and Elections Electoral Behavior of Various Groups Local Campaigns and Elections Media's Role in American Campaigns and Elections People Political Parties, Interest Groups, and American Campaigns and Elections Political Theory and Democratic Elections in America Polls, Public Opinion, and Campaigns and Elections Presidential Campaigns and Elections Reforming American Campaigns and Elections Running Political Campaigns: Management, Organization, and Strategies Social and Psychological Dynamics of Electoral Behavior State and Congressional Campaigns and Elections: History and State Profiles The Encyclopedia of U.S. Campaigns, Elections, and Electoral Behavior is an especially useful reference, published to coincide with the 2008 presidential election. This informative yet intriguing resource is a welcome addition to any academic or public library.
West's Encyclopedia of American Law by
Call Number: Ref. KF154 .W47 2004 Main Campus and Camden Center Libraries)
Publication Date: 2004-08-27
This 12-volume set provides information on more than 5,000 legal topics in American law. It includes completely revised articles covering important issues, biographies, definitions of legal terms and more. Legal issues are fully discussed, including such high-profile topics as the Americans with Disabilities Act, capital punishment, domestic violence, gay and lesbian rights, physician-assisted suicide and thousands more.
Encyclopedia of the American Constitution by
Call Number: Ref. KF4548 .E53 2000 Main Campus and Camden Center
Publication Date: 2000-06-19
This new edition admirably continues the standard set in 1986 of providing high-quality, insightful, and thorough essays by leading constitutional scholars, law school professors, judges, historians, and political scientists on practical and theoretical topics dealing with every aspect of constitutional law in the U.S., from the Constitutional Convention in 1787 to the Clinton impeachment. The first edition won the 1987 Dartmouth Medal awarded by ALA's Reference and User Services Association and was designated as one of four core reference sources for a "Bicentennial Bookshelf" by the National Endowment for the Humanities. In 1992, a one-volume supplement was published, covering major constitutional developments and decisions since 1985 as well as topics omitted from the original set. When it came time to consider publishing a second supplementary volume, the editors wisely decided that it would be too unwieldy for users to have to consult the main volume plus two supplements to obtain thorough coverage of a topic. Instead, the editors opted to produce one new set, which would not only update many existing articles and cover new topics of importance but also include the original content of the first edition and its supplement. So, for example, John Paul Stevens is the subject of three consecutive essays: the original 1986 essay, an update in the1992 supplement, and a 2000 update. Although this arrangement is much simpler than requiring the reader to look in three separate volumes, one must continually stay alert to the fact that the older essays have not themselves been revised and must remember the temporal context when reading and evaluating them. On the other hand, reproducing the original essays and updating them with separate articles give a sense of how the interpretation of events, court decisions, and legal theories may change over time and expose the reader to different viewpoints on the same topic. Contributors to the first edition were encouraged to write commentaries that expressed their own views in addition to describing and analyzing their subjects.
Federal Regulatory Directory by
Call Number: Ref. KF5406 .A15 F4 2008 (Main Campus and Camden Center Libraries)
Publication Date: 2007-12-18
Federal Regulatory Directory is the go-to guide for anyone looking for the most authoritative, thorough, and efficient source of key information on agencies and regulations that shape lives, policies, business, and government in the United States. The thirteenth edition offers easy-to-read, to-the-point analysis of federal regulations as well as the history, structure, purpose, actions, and key contacts for every regulatory agency in the U.S. government. With an improved searching structure and the most current agency and regulation information, including up-to-date coverage of recent changes in staff and agency structures, this new edition of the Federal Regulatory Directory offers. Book jacket.
The Supreme Court Compendium by
Call Number: Ref. KF8742 .S914 2007 (Main Campus and Camden Center Libraries)
Publication Date: 2006-10-16
'''The Supreme Court Compendium is the only reference that presents historical and statistical information on every important aspect of the U.S. Supreme Court, including its history, development as an institution, the justicesÆ backgrounds, nominations, and confirmations, and the CourtÆs relationship with the public and other governmental and judicial bodies. The newest edition of this comprehensive reference includes important new perspective on the legacy of the Rehnquist court.''''Readers will also find: ''''An institutional overview of the CourtÆs history including a chronology of important events from 1787-2006, important Congressional legislation relating to the Supreme Court, internet sites relating to law and courts, and much more''''Background information on all the justices such as family backgrounds, childhood environments, marital status, educational and employment histories, political experiences and trends in voting agreement''''The political and legal environment of the Court is presented including the success rate of the United States as a party before the Supreme Court, the rates of success of various administrative agencies, and state participation in court litigation with success rates''''This new edition includes more than 180 tables and charts and is updated to cover Supreme Court events through the 2005-2006 term. This reference is an invaluable resource to judicial scholars, students, and those interested in the history of the Supreme Court.''''
Guide to the U.S. Supreme Court by
Call Number: Rec. KF8742 .W567 2004 (Camden Center Library)
Publication Date: 2004-02-01
incorporates the work of the U.S. Supreme Court through the 2008–2009 term. The body of the work consists of 22 chapters divided into six parts. Volume 1 covers the history of the Court, how the Court has defined the powers of the branches and levels of government, and how the Court has addressed individual rights. In volume 2, part 4 describes congressional, presidential, media, and public pressures on the Court. Part 5 explains court operations, traditions, personnel, courtrooms, and costs. Part 6 provides brief biographies of the 111 justices. Each chapter concludes with footnotes. Appendixes include documents of national importance, Supreme Court nominations, a list of congressional acts held unconstitutional, a chronology of major decisions, a selected bibliography, and “quotes and quips.” Of particular interest is the analysis of personnel changes on the Court since the fourth edition of the Guide was published (2004). These are effectively portrayed through photographs and text. During this period, the Court saw an unusual amount of turnover, starting with John Roberts succeeding William Rehnquist as Chief Justice. Other changes include Samuel Alito replacing the first female Supreme Court justice, Sandra Day O’Connor; and Sonia Sotomayor, the first appointee by President Obama, replacing David Souter. The Guide is designed to be read in sections so that the reader can focus on an area of law, an important decision, or some discrete element in the Court’s history or operations. Therefore, the subject and case indexes are extremely important, and they live up to the task. The Guide will enhance any student’s or researcher’s study of the Supreme Court and is highly recommended for school, public, academic libraries.
American Political Scientists by
Call Number: Ref JA61.A525 2002 (Main Campus Library)
Publication Date: 2002-10-30
This dictionary offers the only comprehensive collection of profiles of American political scientists, each of whom contributed significantly to the intellectual development of American political science from its beginnings in the late-19th century to the present. This second edition includes 22 new and 110 revised entries, reflecting new scholarship that emerged during the 1990s. Numerous experts helped the editors develop this consensus group of the 193 political scientists who have made the most important theoretical contributions over the years, with attention to varied approaches and the different subfields. Alphabetically arranged entries focus on the main ideas and major works by each scholar, listing list the most important publications by and about the individual. There are numerous cross-references to show how the work of one scholar has influenced another in the discipline. Appendices list the political scientists by degree-granting institutions and by major fields. A short bibliography points to important general readings about the profession. A general index makes this major reference easily accessible for broad interdisciplinary research.
Citation Writing Resources
Online Writing Lab (OWL), Purdue University
Purdue OWL has over 200 free resources including:
* Writing and Teaching Writing
* Grammar and Mechanics
* Style Guides
* ESL (English as a Second Language)
* Job Search and Professional Writing
This tutorial provides the basics of citing sources when doing a research paper or project
Cite Your Sources
This guide covers a wide range of online resources as well as resources in the CCGA Libraries
, Business and Accounting
, Business and Commerce
, Class Guides
, College Success
, eBooks at CCGA
, Gay History
, Library Information/Skills
, Video Resources