Members of the College of Coastal Georgia community and the general public are welcome to access the materials and collections within the College of Coastal Georgia Archives and Special Collections. Due to privacy laws and concerns, some of the college archives materials may not be available for research purposes. To access materials please schedule an appointment in advance by emailing the college archives at archives@ccga.edu. Appointments can be made for two hours at a time. Walk-ins may not be able to be accommodated due to limitations of staff and other responsibilities. There is a reading room available to view materials. Bags, pens, food and drinks are not allowed within the Reading Room. Pencils and paper will be provided if needed, however patrons are welcome to bring in their own pencils, notebooks and laptops.
Currently the collection guidelines for the College of Coastal Georgia Archives is to collect materials directly related to the history of our institution. It is up to the discretion of the College Archivist and the Dean of the Library on what items will be accepted as there is currently limited space and there is no room for multiple copies of the same item in the same condition. Items in poor condition will not be accepted. The College Archives tends to accept donations from other departments on campus and alumni but not always.
Currently the collection guidelines for the Special Collections is to collect materials regarding the local and regional history that are not in conflict with other local historical institutions such as the Heritage Room at the Marshes of Glynn Public Library and the Coastal Georgia Historical Society. Occasionally we will also accept older and rarer comic book collections as well.
It is unusual for the College of Coastal Georgia Archives and Special Collections to deaccession items and collections. If we do it is usually because multiple copies are already being kept or items found in the archives and special collections do not follow the collection guidelines or discovered items are in such poor condition that they can not be preserved.
Any questions regarding these guidelines can be directed to the college archivist or the Dean of Library Services.
