It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CHEM 1211/1212: Principles of Chemistry I and II: Course Tools: Home
Use this box below to search the CCGA's Library GIL Catalog of Books
The catalog is used to find out if the library owns the book you want and where it is located on the shelf.
Chemistry,falls under the general subject heading of Science.
The Library of Congress Classification system locates books on the library under the general call numbers listed below. The subject headings that appear below in bold may also be used to locate books in the library catalog as well as articles and other information in GALILEO. More specific subject headings may be useful depending on what topic you are researching.
To form a truly educated opinion on a scientific subject, you need to become familiar with current research in that field. And to be able to distinguish between good and bad interpretations of research, you have to be willing and able to read the primary research literature for yourself. Reading and understanding research papers is a skill that every single doctor and scientist has had to learn during graduate school. You can learn it too, but like any skill it takes patience and practice.
Call Number: REF. QD65 .L36 2004 (Main Campus and Camden Center )
Publication Date: 2005-01-10
A standard reference for chemists for 70 years, this new Sixteenth Edition features an enormous compilation of facts, data, tabular material, and experimental findings in every area of chemistry.Included in this massive compendium are listings of the properties of approximately 4,400 organic and 1,400 inorganic compounds.This Sixteenth Edition offers 40% new or extensively revised content and starting with this edition, the author includes equations that allow users to calculate important values such as temperature and pressure. Contents: Organic Compounds * General Information, Conversion Tables, and Mathematics * Inorganic Compounds * Properties of Atom, Radicals, and Bonds * Physical Properties * Thermodynamic Properties * Spectroscopy * Electrolytes, Electromotive Force and Chemicals * Physicochemical Relationships * Polymers, Rubbers,Fats, Oils, and Waxes * Practical Laboratory Information
Covers topics including: Physical Properties of Inorganic Compounds; Enthalpy of Fusion; Bond Dissociation Energies; Table of the Isotopes; Inorganic Ion and Ligand Nomenclature; Chemical Carcinogens; and, Global Temperature Trends.
An authoritative and informative volume that examines the scientific achievements in chemistry for which the Nobel Prize has been awarded. Biographies of all 116 Nobel laureates explore their scientific achievements and their human side. Many essays were written by colleagues, coworkers, or former students of the laureates, and all living laureates reviewed their entries for accuracy.
Scientists, engineers, and technologists in many fields need a knowledge of chemistry because of the importance of chemistry in diverse technologies. In addition, to "classical" topics of chemistry, the new Encyclopedia covers nanotechnology, fuel cell technology, green chemistry, forensic chemistry, supramolecular chemistry, combinatorial chemistry, materials chemistry, and proteomics.<br /> <br /> This fifth print edition has been revised and updated, and includes over 200 new articles, as well as 1,300 updated articles.
Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary, 15th Edition is a compilation of technical data and descriptive information covering thousands of chemicals and chemical phenomena, trade name products, processes, reactions, products, and related terminology. Updates and expands the coverage from the previous edition. Adds entries for notable chemists and Nobel Prize winners, equipment and devices, natural forms and minerals, named reactions, and chemical processes. Provides concise, condensed, and prompt definitions of terms and phenomena in chemistry, biology, biochemistry, and more. Is ideal for those with only minutes to devote to any given chemical substance or topic.
The Merck Index is a one-volume encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs and biologicals that contains more than 10,000 monographs. Each monograph in this authoritative reference source is a concise description of a single substance or a small group of closely related compounds. Compounds included: - human and veterinary drugs - biotech drugs and monoclonal antibodies - substances used for medical imaging - biologicals and natural products - plants and traditional medicines - nutraceuticals and cosmeceuticals - agriculturals, pesticides and herbicides - Organic chemicals used in research - Food additives and supplements - dyes, colors and indicators - environmentally significant substances Information provided: - chemical, common and generic names - Over 15,000 trademarks and associated companies - CAS Registry Numbers for over 12,000 compounds - Over 8,500 chemical structures - molecular formulae, weights and percentage composition - capsule statements identifying compound classes and scientific significance - scientific and patent literature references - physical and toxicity data - therapeutic and commercial uses - caution and hazard information In addition, there are more than 700 new and completely revised monographs, thousands of new references, trademarks and uses added to existing monographs. Now includes a companion CD-ROM which features 989 monographs no longer available in print, organic name reactions, supplemental tables and a new user interface for user-friendly searching. Features of the CD: Searchable by keywords, references, and numerical properties Search the complete contents of the 14th edition, plus nearly a thousand monographs archived from previous editions Comes with a free one-year subscription to the Merck Index Internet Edition Windows-compatible CD powered by CambridgeSoft's ChemFinder Extensively revised supplemental tables now including acronyms, vaccines, and physical constants More than 70 pages of hard to find information in one easy-to-use place
Newly updated with the stunning discovery of two new elements, A Guide to the Elements, 2nd Edition is still the easy-to-read, easy-to-understand resource to the periodic table that students and teachers of the physical sciences expect. A Guide to the Elements, Second Edition begins with an introductory section that explains some of the basic concepts of chemistry and traces the history and development of the periodic table of the elements. In clear, nontechnical language, Albert Stwertka takes complex ideas and terms easily understandable. Complemented with historical anecdotes and everyday examples, each fascinating article examines one element and is accompanied by photographs many in full color of practical applications. Middle school and high school students will find this a welcome reference, as will adults with no background in chemistry. This new edition includes: * A comprehensive list of informative websites * An epilogue on recent near-discoveries of new elements * An extensively updated further-reading list An excellent "look up" resource as well as a superb introduction to chemistry, A Guide to the Elements, Second Edition is a good beginning step on the road to chemical literacy.
Purdue OWL has over 200 free resources including:
- Writing and Teaching Writing
- Grammar and Mechanics
- Style Guides
- ESL (English as a Second Language)
- Job Search and Professional Writing