Research Guides: CHEM 1211/1212: Principles of Chemistry I and II: Course Tools: Articles

Citation Tracking: How Scholars Operate

Citation Tracking is tracing who has cited a particular paper. As a literature search strategy, it can be useful for identifying important papers, discovering who else is doing research on a topic of interest, and finding more recent research on a topic.

Citation tracking is also critical to impact factor, a measure of an article's, or entire journal's, influence on a field of research. The more citations a paper or journal has, the higher the impact factor.

GALILE Databases Recommended for Biology (Off-Campus Access Requires Current GALILEO Password)

Academic Search Complete
Scholarly research articles
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals, magazines and other resources, including access to full-text, peer-reviewed journals. Additionally, the database includes access to video content updated monthly from the Associated Press, with footage from 1930 to present.
Biological Science Database
Biological Sciences: articles, full text and citations
Biological Science Database provides access to a wide range of biology topics. The database includes just under 400 titles, with more than 325 available in full text. With thousands of articles available online, ProQuest Biology Journals includes some of the most popular information resources for users in academic, government, and public research environments.
National Science Digital Library
Science, technology, engineering, mathematics, websites, resources
The National Science Digital Library (NSDL) was created by the National Science Foundation to provide organized access to high quality resources and tools that support innovations in teaching and learning at all levels of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics education.
Science and Technology Collection
Scientific research, peer-reviewed
Science & Technology Collection contains more than 830 full-text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,740 journals. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, marine sciences, and materials science.
Science Database
Articles, technology trends
ProQuest Science Journals is a resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals features over 1,600 titles-with more than 1,270 available in full text. In full-text format, researchers have access to all the charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements so vital to scientific and technical literature.