Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books, Articles and More
Use this box below to search the CCGA's Library GIL Catalog of Books
The catalog is used to find out if the library owns the book you want and where it is located on the shelf.
Home Access Requires Current Galileo Password
Business, falls under the general subject heading of Social Sciences and more specifically under the subject heading Commerce.
The Library of Congress Classification system locates books on the library under the general call numbers listed below. The subject headings that appear below in bold may also be used to locate books in the library catalog as well as articles and other information in GALILEO. More specific subject headings may be useful depending on what topic you are researching.
|Commerce & Business
Recommended Tutorial Resources
Assorted Business Tutorials
This link provides access to a number of Business related tutorials including: Starting A Business, Bookkeeping and Accounting, management and many other subjects
Recommended Reference Works In The CCGA Libraries
Encyclopedia of Business Ethics and Society by
Call Number: Ref.HF5387 .E53 2008 (Nain Campus Library)
Publication Date: 2007-10-19
SAGE Reference is proud to announce the Encyclopedia of Business Ethics and Society. The Encyclopedia of Business Ethics and Society spans the relationships among business, ethics and society, with an emphasis on business ethics and the role of business in society. The encyclopedia provides an essential reference tool for students, academics and practitioners interested in gaining knowledge on the role played by business with regard to the environment in which it exists. Key features include: - a broad coverage of corporate social responsibility; -the obligation of businesses to various stakeholder groups; - the contribution of business to society and culture; - the relationship of business to the quality of the environment, including the issue of environmental sustainability. This is an essential reference work for all those in the fields of management, psychology, sociology, communication and political science.
Dictionary of Business Terms by
Call Number: Ref. HF1001 .F78 2007 (Main Campus Library)
Publication Date: 2007-05-01
Expanded with new entries and updated to reflect recent economic developments and the current business climate, this quick-reference dictionary defines more than 7,500 terms relating to accounting, taxation, advertising, business law, communications, transportation, computers and the Internet, economics, finance, insurance, international business, management, marketing, real estate, and statistics. Definitions come with examples, illustrations, and cross-references. An appendix defines hundreds of business-related abbreviations and acronyms. Here is a useful, easy-to-understand reference book with information that is helpful to everyone involved in business activities, whether novices or experienced business executives.
Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources by
Call Number: Ref.HF5353 .E52 2008 (Main Campus Library)
Publication Date: 2008-03-01
Each updated edition of this detailed resource identifies nearly 35,000 live, print and electronic sources of information listed under more than 1,100 alphabetically arranged subjects -- industries and business concepts and practices. Edited by business information expert James Woy.
Business Plans Handbook by
Call Number: Ref.HD30.28 .P5766 2006 (Main Campus Library)
Publication Date: 2005-10-19
Business Plans Handbook is a collection of actual business plans compiled by entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses throughout North America. For those looking for examples of how to approach, structure and compose their own business plans, the Handbook presents 24 sample plans taken from businesses in the manufacturing, retail and service industries -- only the company names and addresses have been changed. Typical business plans include type of business; statement of purpose; executive summary; business/industry description; market; product and production; management/personnel; and financial specifics. This edition also contains a business plan template and two fictional business plans -- all of which can aid users in developing business plans of their own. Also featured is a listing of organizations, agencies, and consultants; a glossary of small business terms; and an updated bibliography.
Smith and Roberson's Business Law by
Call Number: Ref. KF889 .S557 2009 (Main Campus Library)
Publication Date: 2008-03-11
With a long history of accuracy and up-to-date coverage, SMITH AND ROBERSON'S BUSINESS LAW is the most complete and credible text available, equipping you with a thorough understanding of the key issues in business law. Completely updated, the new 14th edition of this classic features a comprehensive, detailed, and thorough presentation of business law issues ranging from traditional topics to new laws and emerging trends. End-of-chapter cases offer an excellent mix of landmark and current cases and include edited facts and decisions to preserve the language of the court, letting you apply the law to real business practice. SMITH AND ROBERSON'S BUSINESS LAW, 14e, gives you solid insight into the many ways that laws impact how you--and your future employer--practice business.
Electronic Commerce by
Call Number: Ref. HF5548.32 .E356 2008 (Main Campus Library)
Publication Date: 2007-12-31
Electronic Commerce: Concepts, Methodologies, Tools and Applications is the principle source of reference for all applications within the discipline of mobile commerce, virtual enterprises, business-to-business applications, Web services, and enterprise methodologies. This collection will supply all audiences with the latest research addressing the successes and obstacles of commerce in today's society.
The Encyclopedia of American Business History by
Call Number: Ref. HF3021 .G44 2006 (Main Campus)
Publication Date: 2005-12-01
This two-volume, A-to-Z encyclopedia provides detailed coverage of America's business history, from the Hudson fur trade to the Internet. More than 400 lively, informative entries profile corporate titans and tycoons, Wall Street wizards, industry leaders, and major events and institutions of American business - spanning the period after American independence to the present day. Each entry is accompanied by a short bibliography and is cross-referenced to related entries, enabling readers to pursue the topic further. An introduction offers a general account of the topic, and a chronology helps readers place events into historical context. Selected primary documents, a general bibliography, and an index round out this important reference. Entries include American Telephone & Telegraph; Warren Buffett; the computer industry; Walt Disney; Thomas Alva Edison; Henry Ford; General Electric Co.; Howard Hughes, Jr.; International Business Machines; Steven Jobs; Lehman Brothers; the motion picture industry; the New York Stock Exchange; office machines; Pan American Airlines; rail-roads; John D. Rockefeller; Sarbanes-Oxley Act; Sears, Roebuck & Co.; slavery; Martha Stewart; the telegraph; United Automobile Workers; Cornelius Vanderbilt; Eli Whitney; and more.
Citation Writing Resources
Online Writing Lab (OWL), Purdue University
Purdue OWL has over 200 free resources including:
* Writing and Teaching Writing
* Grammar and Mechanics
* Style Guides
* ESL (English as a Second Language)
* Job Search and Professional Writing
This tutorial provides the basics of citing sources when doing a research paper or project
Cite Your Sources
This guide covers a wide range of online resources as well as resources in the CCGA Libraries
, Business and Accounting
, Business and Commerce
, Class Guides
, College Success
, eBooks at CCGA
, Gay History
, Library Information/Skills
, Video Resources