Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide is for African American Literature (ENGL 3202) taught by Dr. Kyle Fox at the College of Coastal Georgia. The course is a focused study of African American literature beginning with the earliest known examples, continuing with slave narratives from the 19th-century, works from the Harlem Renaissance, the Civil Rights era, and modern classics.
Selected Books & eBooks
GIL-Find is College of Coastal Georgia's online catalog, a database of both print and digital materials owned by the college. Some of the materials that may show up in your GIL-Find search results are in GALILEO. Examples include eBooks and streaming video. Can't find what you want at Coastal? Switch to University System of Georgia in the search box dropdown menu and search other institutions.
Selected Films in GALILEO
Find Hughe's Dream Harlem in Alexander Street's Black Studies in Video portfolio. Alexander Street is a ProQuest database in GALILEO. It features the following streaming documentaries and archival footage of African American authors. If you are on campus or in D2L, no log-in is required for GALILEO. Otherwise, use your college email address and password to access these resources.
Find these films and many more in Films on Demand, a GALILEO database.
Find these eJournals and many more in GIL-Find, the library's online catalog:
- African American Review
- Black American Literature Forum
- Black History Bulletin
- Black Issues Book Review
- Blacks Issues in Higher Education
- Black Renaissance = Renaissance Noire
- Black Scholar
- International Journal of African Historical Studies
- International Journal of African Renaissance Studies
- Journal of African American History
- Journal of African American Men
- Journal of African American Studies
- The Langston Hughes Review
Slave Narratives: Selected Resources
Selected GALILEO Databases
Need help finding the right databases for your research paper or group project? GALILEO has a YouTube channel with videos that show you how to make the most of your searches. Watch Finding the Best Database in GALILEO.
If you are on campus or in D2L, no log-in is required for GALILEO. Otherwise, use your college email address and password to access these resources.
Academic Search Complete
An EBSCOhost database with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals.
Content on the authors and works most studied in the high school curriculum, multicultural classics, contemporary literature, and more.
Civil Rights Digital Library
Digital Library of Georgia's database links to primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale.
Gale Literature Resource Center
A complete literature reference database, rich in biographical, bibliographical, and critical content.
HathiTrust Digital Library
Digitized collection of books, journals, and other items from major research libraries.
A collection of electronic journals in the fields of African American Studies, Anthropology, History, Literature, and more.
Literary Reference Center Plus (EBSCOhost)
Includes thousands of plot summaries, synopses, and work overviews; articles of literary criticism; author biographies; full-text literary journals; book reviews; classic and contemporary poems and short stories; classic novels; author interviews; and images of key literary figures.
Scholarly journals from the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, and more.
ProQuest Central brings together 30 highly used ProQuest databases to create the largest single academic research resource.