Skip to main content

Comics at CCGA: The Engebretsen and Myers Collections

Engebretsen, Myers, and other comic collections

Comics at CCGA

Illustration for Comics at CCGA

Comics at CCGA is a website created as a Service Learning project by students, with guidance from faculty, in the College of Coastal Georgia's American Studies program. The fundamental work of the project was done in Spring semester 2015 as a section of AMST 3740 "American Popular Culture."

  • Editor-in-Chief: Jason "Doctor Comics" Tondro, Assistant Professor of English
  • EditorsBenjamin "The Author" Barrs, "Smilin" Shane Bowers, "Dapper" Derek Jackson, Tyler Sands, Lane Silva
  • Writers: Avery "Surfer" Bell, Ashley Blue, Shawn Clark, Kierra Crandall, Derek Crosby, Leianna Deboe, Timothy Dunker, Christian Dutton, Alvin Fernando, "Colorful" Nichole Herrin, "Brando" Herron, Oreon Jackson, Jacquelyn Jenkins, John Ryan "JR"  Josey, Kierra Crandall, Bryan Merritt, "Rollickin" Rishard Morgan, Carley Myers, Amanda Ruddell, Briana Salyers, Kandi "The King" Shepherd, Beth "The Boss" Tasciotti, Luke "the Duke" Watson, Megan Maloof

 

Engebretsen Collection

The Engebretsen Collection comprises about 350 volumes, mostly Marvel comics dating from the 1960s. It was donated to the college in 2014 from the Glenn and Sara Engebretsen Trust, to which we are very grateful. 

There are some additional books in the collection and some stand-out volumes, but in general the collection is notable for its representation of the early "Marvel Age of Comics." For example, it includes issues of Spider-Man and Strange Tales by Steve Ditko, Tales of Suspense, Journey into Mystery, Captain America, The X-Men and The Avengers by Jack Kirby, and Jim Steranko's Nick Fury, Agent of SHIELD. It includes issues of the art magazine Witzend, Steranko's two-volume history of comics, and a Krazy Kat collection.

 

Myers Collection

In the course of constructing this site and indexing the Engebretsen Collection, another donation was made to the college. Mr. Myers, whose daughter Carley was a student writer in the course, donated his father's comics collection of about 120 books. This added to the workload for the class, but was a wonderful addition to the collection, adding runs on Superman. Firestorm, Green Lantern, World's Finest, and other DC titles. The Myers Collection dates back to the pre-Crisis DC era and has some real gems in it, including Superman 423 ("What Ever Happened to the Man of Tomorrow?" by Alan Moore), Crisis on Infinite Earths 7 (the Death of Supergirl), and a 1982 anti-smoking comic distributed by Marvel, starring Spider-Man, Storm, and Power-Man. The Green Lantern issues include art by Neal Adams and Gil Kane. Then, the second half of the collection dates from about 10 years later and includes miscellaneous books from the early '90s.

The Myers Collection remains not indexed at this time, but it includes:
  • Action Comics (23 issues)
  • Adventures of Superman (6 issues)
  • Firestorm (11 issues)
  • Green Lantern (24 issues)
  • Superman (20 issues)
  • World's Finest Comics (9 issues)
  • and about 35 additional comics, with no more than 1-2 issues per title.