Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

In Memory of James (Michael) Hannaford CCGA Professor of English 1993-2018: Books From The Michael Hannaford Collection in the Camden Center Library

This Research Guide is dedicated to the memory of Professor Hannaford. It includes a listing of his books that were donated by his wife Barbara Hannaford. Also included are copies of some of his favorite class assignments, his poetry, and other items.

Michael's Favorite Quote About Books

I care not how humble your bookshelf may be, nor how lowly the room which it adorns. Close the door of that room behind you, shut off with it all the cares of the outer world, plunge back into the company of the great dead, and then you are through the magic portal into that fair land whither worry and vexation can follow no more. You have left all that is vulgar and all that is sordid behind you. There stand your noble silent comrades, waiting in their ranks. Pass your eyes down their files. Choose your man. And then you but to hold up your hand to him and away you go together into dreamland. Surely there would be something eerie about a line of books were it not that familiarity has deadened our sense of it. Each is a mummified soul embalmed in cere-cloth and natron of leather and printer’s ink. Each cover of a true book enfolds the concentrated essence of a man. The personalities of the writers have faded into the thinnest shadows, as their bodies into impalpable dust, yet here are their very spirits at your command.

                                                                                                                                                   From Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s Through the Magic Door

Book Links

Book Links

Books Frtom Camden Center Michael Hannaford Memorial Collection

One Hundred Years of Poetry for Children

A century of poetry, gathered from nearly one hundred and fifty different poets. From Thomas Hardy, Rudyard Kipling, and W.B. Yeats writing at the the beginning of the century, to John Agard, Wendy Cope, and Seamus Heaney writing today, the poems cover a wide range of subjects, themes, andemotions. The poems have been selected from poets who either wrote for children, or who wrote poems that children have found enjoyable.Michael Harrison and Christopher Stuart-Clark have edited a number of books for Oxford University Press, including The Oxford Treasury of Classic Poems, The Oxford Book of Christmas Poems, and The Oxford Treasury of Christmas Poems.

The Victorian Fairy Tale Book

A collection of classic Victorian fairy tales by such authors as John Ruskin, Charles Dickens, and Oscar Wilde.

Mountain Home

China's tradition of "rivers-and-mountains" poetry stretches across millennia. This is a plain-spoken poetry of immediate day-to-day experience, and yet seems most akin to China's grand landscape paintings. Although its wisdom is ancient, rooted in Taoist and Zen thought, this work feels utterly contemporary, especially as rendered here with Hinton's acclaimed poetic ability. The rivers-and-mountains tradition treats a remarkable range of topics: comic domestic scenes, social protest, travelogue, sage recluses, and mountain landscapes shaped into forms of enlightenment. But throughout that range, these poems articulate the experience of living as an organic part of the natural world and its processes. And in an age of global ecological disruption and mass extinction, this tradition grows more urgent and universally important by the day. These breathtaking translations offer a poetry that will charm and inform not just readers of poetry, but also the large community of readers who are interested in environmental awareness.

The Complete Fairy Tales of the Brothers Grimm

The Complete Fairy Tales of the Brothers Grimm Perhaps no other stories possess as much power to enchant, delight, and surprise as those penned by the immortal Brothers Grimm. Now, in the new, expanded third edition, renowned scholar and folklorist Jack Zipes has translated all 250 tales collected and published by Jacob and Wilhelm Grimm, plus twenty-nine rare tales omitted from the original German edition, as well as narratives uncovered in the brothers’ letters and papers. Truly the most comprehensive translation to date, this critically acclaimed edition recaptures the fairy tales as the Brothers Grimm intended them to be: rich, stark, spiced with humor and violence, resonant with folklore and song. One of the world’s experts on children’s literature, Jack Zipes is a professor of German at the University of Minnesota and is the author of numerous books on folklore and fairy tales.

The Complete Fairy Tales

George MacDonald occupied a major position in the intellectual life of his Victorian contemporaries. The Complete Fairy Talesbrings together all eleven of his shorter fairy stories as well as his essay "The Fantastic Imagination." The subjects are those of traditional fantasy- fairies good and wicked, and children journeying into unsettling dreamworlds or undertaking life-risking labours. But though they allude to familiar tales such as "Sleeping Beauty" and "Jack the Giant-Killer", MacDonald's stories are profoundly experimental and subversive. By questioning the concept that a childhood associated with purity, innocence, and fairy-tale "wonder" ought to be segregated from adult scepticism and disbelief, they invite adult readers to adopt the same elasticity and open-mindedness that come so naturally to a child. Enlisting paradox, play, and nonsense much like Lewis Carroll's Alice books, these fictions challenge us to question and rethink our assumptions, and offer an elusive yet meaningful alternative order to the dubious certitudes of everyday life.

Dante's Vita Nuova

In this new edition Musa views Dante's intention as one of cruel and comic commentary on the shallowness and self-pity of his protagonist, who only occasionally glimpses the true nature of love. ... the explication de texte which accompanies [Musa's] translation is instructively novel, always admirable.... This present work offers English readers a lengthy appraisal which should figure in future scholarly discussions." --Choice

Afro-American Folktales

This addition to the Pantheon Fairy Tale and Folklore Library completes Roger Abrahams's masterful survey of taletelling in the black world by showing the vital forms African stories took as they entered the New World. These 107 tales come from the canefields of the antebellum South, the villages of Caribbean islands, and the streets of contemporary Philadelphia. Throbbing with life, they range from earthy comedy (in recounting the scandalous doings of tricksters Rabbit and Fox) to inventive "just-so" stories explaining why the world is the way it is, to moral fables about encounters between masters and slaves, kings and servants, black and white. Together, they robustly demonstrate the ways an uprooted people have drawn from the traditions of their past to fashion a life -- and with it, a whole new and vital culture -- in the New World.

Shadows of Imagination

The twelve original essays in this volume are joined by a common interest in the forms the shadows of an author’s imagination can take and in analyzing the shapes that can cast such shadows. This collection will be of interest to a wide audience: the general reader, the science-fiction devotee, and students of twentieth-century literature. Taken together, the essays provide a comprehensive view and critical evaluation of the fantasy fiction of Lewis, Tolkien, and Williams.

Narration in the German Novelle

The Novelle is a characteristic German literary form, easier to recognize than to define, except as a brief novel or a long short story. The main body of this book is devoted to interpretative essays on individual Novellen. In a sense they all illustrate one central problem: the relationship of the narrator to his story, and the importance of this relationship for its interpretation. Professor Ellis begins with an analytical chapter which faces the problem of defining the genre, using an approach derived from conceptual analysis. The individual studies are of works by Kleist, Tieck, Hoffmann, Grillparzwe, Keller, Storm, Hauptmann and Kafka. This is a book which will help students and scholars to categorize and criticize an important genre, and it may well serve as an introduction to the whole study for the English-speaking reader.

The Metamorphosis

The novella is fully annotated and is accompanied by selected textual variants. Backgrounds and Contexts introduces readers to The Metamorphosis in the richest possible setting. The links between the author's life and his work are explored through an examination of his personal writings. Kafka's letters and diary entries illuminate the creative process behind his portrait of Gregor Samsa, his family, and their nightmarish ordeal. Criticism collects seven essays from the period 1970-95 representing the most important currents in literary theory--semiotics, feminism, identity philosophy, New Historicism, and post-Freudian cultural psychoanalysis. The essays offer a variety of perspectives on the novella by Iris Bruce, Nina Pelikan Straus, Kevin W. Sweeney, Mark Anderson, Hartmut Binder, Eric Santner, and Stanley Corngold. A Chronology and Selected Bibliography are also included.

Poems of the Masters

'The' classic Chinese poetry anthology in a handsome English-Chinese format. Poetry is China's greatest art, and for the past eight centuries 'Poems of the Masters' has been that country's most studied and memorized collection of verse. For the first time ever in English, here is the complete text, with an introduction and extensive notes by renowned translator, Red Pine. Over one hundred poets are represented in this bilingual edition, including many of China's celebrated poets: Li Pai, Wang Wei, Tu Fu, Wang Po, and Ou-yang Hsiu. 'Poems of the Masters' was compiled during the Sung dynasty (960-1278), a time when poetry became the defining measure of human relationships and understanding.As Red Pine writes in his introduction: "Nothing was significant without a poem, no social or ritual occasion, no political or personal event was considered complete without a few well-chosen words that summarized the complexities of the Chinese vision of reality and linked that visionwith the beat of their hearts . . . [Poetry's] greatest flowering was in the T'ang and Sung, when suddenly it was everywhere: in the palace, in the street, in every household, every inn, every monastery, in every village square." "Chiupu River Song" by Li Pai My white hair extends three milesthe sorrow of parting made it this longwho would guess to look in a mirrorwhere autumn frost comes from"This valuable text will help us appreciate the richness of poetic imagination and experience."-- 'Book Magazine,' five-star review"[ 'Poems of the Masters' ] includes the Chinese originals, along with commentaries on imagery, various social conventions, historical background--all absolutely essential to a full appreciation of the texts... the best way to approach them is to pick one out and let it drop like a pebble into the well of your mind and hear how it resonates."-- 'The Philadelphia Inquirer' "The poems in this remarkable anthology speak to us--across an immense distance of time andspace--of loneliness, beauty, the consequences of political action, the stillness of autumn. Red Pine's wonderful translations and the clarity of his accompanying notes make these poems accessible and intimate to all of us...Red Pine and the good people at Copper Canyon deserve a place in the Taoist paradise for bringing us this beautiful book."-- 'Booksense Recommends' Red Pine is one of the world's most respected translators of Chinese literature, bringing into English several of China's centralreligious and literary texts, including 'Lao-tzu's Taoteching' (isbn 9781556592904) and 'The Collected Songs of Cold Mountain' (isbn 9781556591402).

Great Ghost Stories

Ten classics of supernatural fiction by masters of the macabre: Bram Stoker's "The Judge's House," "The Moonlit Road" by Ambrose Bierce, M. R. James' "The Rose Garden," Charles Dickens' "To Be Taken with a Grain of Salt," "Dickon the Devil" by J. S. LeFanu, E. G. Swain's "Bone to His Bone" and 5 others.

The Complete Fairy Tales

George MacDonald occupied a major position in the intellectual life of his Victorian contemporaries. The Complete Fairy Talesbrings together all eleven of his shorter fairy stories as well as his essay "The Fantastic Imagination." The subjects are those of traditional fantasy- fairies good and wicked, and children journeying into unsettling dreamworlds or undertaking life-risking labours. But though they allude to familiar tales such as "Sleeping Beauty" and "Jack the Giant-Killer", MacDonald's stories are profoundly experimental and subversive. By questioning the concept that a childhood associated with purity, innocence, and fairy-tale "wonder" ought to be segregated from adult scepticism and disbelief, they invite adult readers to adopt the same elasticity and open-mindedness that come so naturally to a child. Enlisting paradox, play, and nonsense much like Lewis Carroll's Alice books, these fictions challenge us to question and rethink our assumptions, and offer an elusive yet meaningful alternative order to the dubious certitudes of everyday life.

The Folktale

"Thompson believed the folktale to be an important and living art, underlying all literary narrative forms. Most of all he wanted to acquaint readers with most of the great folktales of the world, not only for their own interest as stories, but as elements of culture. He writes about the nature and form of the folktale, gives an account of tales from Ireland to India, devotes a special section to the North American Indian tales and myths, and another to the methods of collecting, classifying, studying folktales as a living art. He found them rich and varied sources of entertainment and wisdom. So much is to be found in them, he said, that the talents of literary critics, historians, anthropologists, psychologists, linguists are all necessary. Study of the folktale involved 'more talents than one man can easily possess.' Stith Thompson came close to possessing them."  --Los Angeles Times   "Thompson's work in their field has shaped the study of this form of literature for the past three decades. In this classic work Thompson discusses a wide range of story motifs and retells their basic patterns. His classifications and descriptions of the huge mass of folk literature are extremely enjoyable reading. He also discusses the background to his own study of the folktale. He includes an index to tale types classified according to the main story motifs which can be used for reference. This outstanding book is very highly recommended as fascinating reading." --Kliatt Paperback Book Guide   "The Folktale will appeal to a wide public: the student of sociology of literature, the professor of comparative literature, the general reader interested in folklore. Thompson's book is a scholarly masterpiece." --Studies in Short Fiction  

The Theory of the Novel

Georg Lukács wrote The Theory of the Novel in 1914-1915, a period that also saw the conception of Rosa Luxemburg's Spartacus Letters, Lenin's Imperialism: The Highest Stage of Capitalism, Spengler's Decline of the West, and Ernst Bloch's Spirit of Utopia. Like many of Lukács's early essays, it is a radical critique of bourgeois culture and stems from a specific Central European philosophy of life and tradition of dialectical idealism whose originators include Kant, Hegel, Novalis, Marx, Kierkegaard, Simmel, Weber, and Husserl. The Theory of the Novel marks the transition of the Hungarian philosopher from Kant to Hegel and was Lukács's last great work before he turned to Marxism-Leninism.

The Juniper Tree

"A milestone, a tour de force, a joy to see...27 stories from the Grimm brothers' collection [including] some familiar tales and others that are less well known. The translations...are direct and fresh, unexpurgated and unsweetened. The illustrations are superb; beautiful, imaginative, appropriate, tender and terrible-as though the tales had been waiting for Maurice Sendak to interpret them. For children and adults."-Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books Translated by Lore Segal with four tales translated by Randall Jarrell. Illustrated by Maurice Sendak "Many Fur" is translated from the text in the first edition of Kinder- und Hansmarchen (1812, 1815), which is more coherent than the versions in the later editions. The other tales are translated from lalter texts, as reworked by the Brothers Grimm. Randall Jarrell's translations of "Fisherman and His Wife,"Hansel and Gretel," The Golden Bird and Other Fairy Tales of the Brothers Grimm (Macmillian, 1962), are reprinted here.

Four Archetypes

Extracted from Volume 9, Part I. Includes "Psychological Aspects of the Mother Archetype," "Concerning Rebirth," "The Phenomenology of the Spirit in Fairytales," and "On the Psychology of the Trickster-Figure."

Dreams

Extracted from Volumes 4, 8, 12, and 16. Includes "The Analysis of Dreams," 'On the Significance of Number Dreams," "General Aspects of Dream Psychology," "On the Nature of Dreams," "Individual Dream Symbolism in Relation to Alchemy," and "The Practical Use of Dream-Analysis."

Psychological Types

One of the most important of Jung's longer works, and probably the most famous of his books, Psychological Types appeared in German in 1921 after a "fallow period" of eight years during which Jung had published little. He called it "the fruit of nearly twenty years' work in the domain of practical psychology," and in his autobiography he wrote: "This work sprang originally from my need to define the ways in which my outlook differed from Freud's and Adler's. In attempting to answer this question, I came across the problem of types; for it is one's psychological type which from the outset determines and limits a person's judgment. My book, therefore, was an effort to deal with the relationship of the individual to the world, to people and things. It discussed the various aspects of consciousness, the various attitudes the conscious mind might take toward the world, and thus constitutes a psychology of consciousness regarded from what might be called a clinical angle." In expounding his system of personality types Jung relied not so much on formal case data as on the countless impressions and experiences derived from the treatment of nervous illnesses, from intercourse with people of all social levels, "friend and foe alike," and from an analysis of his own psychological nature. The book is rich in material drawn from literature, aesthetics, religion, and philosophy. The extended chapters that give general descriptions of the types and definitions of Jung's principal psychological concepts are key documents in analytical psychology.

Flying Saucers - A Modern Myth of Things Seen in the Skies

"In the threatening situation of the world today, when people are beginning to see that everything is at stake, the projection-creating fantasy soars beyond the realm of earthly organizations and powers into the heavens, into interstellar space, where the rulers of human fate, the gods, once had their abode in the planets.... Even people who would never have thought that a religious problem could be a serious matter that concerned them personally are beginning to ask themselves fundamental questions. Under these circumstances it would not be at all surprising if those sections of the community who ask themselves nothing were visited by `visions,' by a widespread myth seriously believed in by some and rejected as absurd by others."--C. G. Jung, in Flying Saucers ? Jung's primary concern in Flying Saucers is not with the reality or unreality of UFOs but with their psychic aspect. Rather than speculate about their possible nature and extraterrestrial origin as alleged spacecraft, he asks what it may signify that these phenomena, whether real or imagined, are seen in such numbers just at a time when humankind is menaced as never before in history. The UFOs represent, in Jung's phrase, "a modern myth."

Symbols of Transformation

A complete revision of Psychology of the Unconscious (orig. 1911-12), Jung's first important statement of his independent position.

Aion - Researches into the Phenomenology of the Self

Aion, originally published in German in 1951, is one of the major works of Jung's later years. The central theme of the volume is the symbolic representation of the psychic totality through the concept of the Self, whose traditional historical equivalent is the figure of Christ. Jung demonstrates his thesis by an investigation of the Allegoria Christi, especially the fish symbol, but also of Gnostic and alchemical symbolism, which he treats as phenomena of cultural assimilation. The first four chapters, on the ego, the shadow, and the anima and animus, provide a valuable summation of these key concepts in Jung's system of psychology.

The Complete Tales and Poems of Winnie-the-Pooh

In 1926, the world was introduced to a portly little bear named Winnie-the-Pooh. Along with his young friend, Christopher Robin, Pooh delighted readers from the very beginning. His often befuddled perceptions and adorable insights won the hearts of everyone around him, including his close group of friends. From the energetic Tigger to the dismal Eeyore, A. A. Milne created a charming bunch, both entertaining and inspirational. These simple creatures often reflected a small piece of all of us: humble, silly, wise, cautious, creative, and full of life. Remember when Piglet did a very grand thing, or Eeyore's almost-forgotten birthday? Gorgeous watercolor illustrations from Ernest H. Shepard appear in all their glory. With beautiful colors and simple lines, these images hold their own as classics. The tales, filled with superb story lines and lessons, will continue to capture the hearts of new generations.

D'Aulaire's Norse Gods and Giants

Ancient myths, populated by gods and giants, were  invented by the imaginative Norsemen centuries  ago. Everything from the creation of the world to  daily events and supernatural occurrences form the  basis for these incredible, fun and fascinating  stories. Complete with a Reader's Companion: a  combination index, glossary, pronunciation and reader's  guide.

The Romantic Vision of Caspar David Friedrich

The German Romantic painter Caspar David Friedrich (1774-1840) transformed his native landscape into hauntingly evocative imagery. This illustrated volume catalogues the first exhibition in the USA to be devoted to his works.

The Sound of One Hand

Hakuin Ekaku (1685-1768) is one of the most influential figures in the history of Zen. He can be considered the founder of the modern Japanese Rinzai tradition, for which he famously emphasized the importance of koan practice in awakening, and he revitalized the monastic life of his day. But his teaching was by no means limited to monastery or temple. Hakuin was the quintessential Zen master of the people, renowned for taking his teaching to all parts of society, to people in every walk of life, and his painting and calligraphy were particularly powerful vehicles for that teaching. Using traditional Buddhist images and sayings--but also themes from folklore and daily life--Hakuin created a new visual language for Zen: profound, whimsical, and unlike anything that came before. In his long life, Hakuin created many thousands of paintings and calligraphies. This art, combined with his voluminous writings, stands as a monument to his teaching, revealing why he is the most important Zen master of the past five hundred years. The Sound of One Hand is a study of Hakuin and his enduringly appealing art, illustrated with a wealth of examples of his work, both familiar pieces like "Three Blind Men on a Bridge" as well as lesser known masterworks.

English Romantic Writers

ENGLISH ROMANTIC WRITERS offers selections from authors who have traditionally held a large place in our consciousness of English Romanticism, but it also includes other figures--especially women--who have been less emphasized in the past. The intellectual discourses of the age concerning governance, politics, the impact of the French Revolution, gender and the status of women, the nature of nature and of human psychology, and the theory of literature and art are represented in the prose and poetry of writers like Wordsworth, Coleridge, the Shelleys, and Keats.

Poems of the Masters

'The' classic Chinese poetry anthology in a handsome English-Chinese format. Poetry is China's greatest art, and for the past eight centuries 'Poems of the Masters' has been that country's most studied and memorized collection of verse. For the first time ever in English, here is the complete text, with an introduction and extensive notes by renowned translator, Red Pine. Over one hundred poets are represented in this bilingual edition, including many of China's celebrated poets: Li Pai, Wang Wei, Tu Fu, Wang Po, and Ou-yang Hsiu. 'Poems of the Masters' was compiled during the Sung dynasty (960-1278), a time when poetry became the defining measure of human relationships and understanding.As Red Pine writes in his introduction: "Nothing was significant without a poem, no social or ritual occasion, no political or personal event was considered complete without a few well-chosen words that summarized the complexities of the Chinese vision of reality and linked that visionwith the beat of their hearts . . . [Poetry's] greatest flowering was in the T'ang and Sung, when suddenly it was everywhere: in the palace, in the street, in every household, every inn, every monastery, in every village square." "Chiupu River Song" by Li Pai My white hair extends three milesthe sorrow of parting made it this longwho would guess to look in a mirrorwhere autumn frost comes from"This valuable text will help us appreciate the richness of poetic imagination and experience."-- 'Book Magazine,' five-star review"[ 'Poems of the Masters' ] includes the Chinese originals, along with commentaries on imagery, various social conventions, historical background--all absolutely essential to a full appreciation of the texts... the best way to approach them is to pick one out and let it drop like a pebble into the well of your mind and hear how it resonates."-- 'The Philadelphia Inquirer' "The poems in this remarkable anthology speak to us--across an immense distance of time andspace--of loneliness, beauty, the consequences of political action, the stillness of autumn. Red Pine's wonderful translations and the clarity of his accompanying notes make these poems accessible and intimate to all of us...Red Pine and the good people at Copper Canyon deserve a place in the Taoist paradise for bringing us this beautiful book."-- 'Booksense Recommends' Red Pine is one of the world's most respected translators of Chinese literature, bringing into English several of China's centralreligious and literary texts, including 'Lao-tzu's Taoteching' (isbn 9781556592904) and 'The Collected Songs of Cold Mountain' (isbn 9781556591402).

Myths and Folk Tales of Ireland

Twenty folk tales representing hundreds of years of the collective Irish imagination transport readers to a world where everything is alive and anything can happen! Vivid descriptions of battles with giants, dead men who come back to life, humans imprisoned in animals' bodies, heroes with incredible strength, and more.

The Complete Adventures of Peter Rabbit

A collection of the four stories relating all the adventures of Peter Rabbit and his mischievous cousin, Benjamin Bunny. Included are "The Tale of Peter Rabbit", "The Tale of Benjamin Bunny", "The Tale of the Flopsy Bunnies", and "The Tale of Mr. Tod".

Perrault's Fairy Tales

Original versions of "Cinderella," "Sleeping Beauty," "Little Red Riding Hood," and more. With 34 magnificent illustrations by Gustave Doré.

The White Goddess

This labyrinthine and extraordinary book, first published more than fifty years ago, was the outcome of Graves's vast reading and curious research into strange territories of folklore, mythology, religion and magic. Erudite and impassioned, it is a scholar-poet's quest for the meaning of European myths, a polemic about the relations between man and woman, and also an intensely personal document in which Graves explored the sources of his own inspiration and, as he believed, all true poetry. This new edition has been prepared by Grevel Lindop, who has written an illuminating introduction. The text of the book incorporates all Graves's final revisions, as well as his replies to two of the original reviewers, and a long essay in which he describes the months of inspiration in which The White Goddess was written.

The Classic Fairy Tales

This volume contains twenty-four of the best known fairy tales in the English language, presented here in the exact words of their first English publication or of the earliest surviving text. Including "Sleeping Beauty," "Bluebeard," "Cinderella," "Thumbelina," and "Hansel and Gretel," as well as many others, this collection provides a historical introduction for each tale and a general Introduction which traces the history of fairy tales collected in Asia and Europe long before they appeared in English.

Stories and Poems for Extremely Intelligent Children of All Ages

A collection of stories and poems, arranged in four sections corresponding to the four seasons.

The Selected Poems of Po Chu-I

Generally acclaimed as one of China's greatest poets, Po Chü?-i (772-846 C.E.) practiced a poetry of everyday human concerns and clear plain-spoken language. In spite of his preeminent stature, this is the first edition of Po Chü?-i's poetry to appear in the West. It encompasses the full range of his work, from the early poems of social protest to the later recluse poems, whose spiritual depths reflect both his life-long devotion to Taoist and Ch'an (Zen) Buddhist practice. David Hinton's translations of ancient Chinese poetry have earned wide acclaim for creating compelling English texts that have altered our conception of Chinese poetry. Among his books published by New Directions areThe Selected Poems of Tu Fu, andThe Selected Poems of Li Po. His work has been supported by fellowships from The National Endowment for the Arts and The National Endowment for the Humanities.

Shuckin' and Jivin'

..". a rare combination of inclusiveness and honesty.... cogent introduction[s]... confirm the central point of the tales: a search for cultural identity and freedom. First-rate." -- Library Journal ..". deserves a place alongside the classic collection of Negro tales, Mules and Men. Folktales are the stories people tell, and Shuckin' and Jivin' presents a splendid representative sheaf of the stories black Americans of all social classes tell today.... Professional folklorists will applaud Dance's candor and scholarly rigor." -- Richard M. Dorson An exciting new collection of Black American folklore, running the gamut from anecdotes concerning life among the slaves to obviously contemporary jokes. In their frank expression of racial attitudes and unexpurgated wit, these tales represent a radical departure from earlier collections.

George MacDonald's Fiction

George Macdonald (1824-1905) was a writer whose style, ideas, person, and genres of work defy quick analysis and simple interpretation. His books, from their beginnings in the mid 1850s to this present day, have always elicited strong and extremely varied responses. They were both extolled and criticized in his own time, and have been revered and ignored in our own. The Sunrise Masterline Series is a gathering together of articles, essays, studies, and personal glimpses about the writings and person of George MacDonald so that 20th century readers of his works will have tools at their disposal to enable them more fully to understand his message. Book jacket.

The Mythic Image

A paperback edition of Campbell's major study of the mythology of the world's high civilizations over five millennia. It includes nearly 450 illustrations. The text is the same as that of the 1974 edition. Mythologist Joseph Campbell was a masterful storyteller, able to weave tales from every corner of the world into compelling, even spellbinding, narratives. His interest in comparative mythology began in childhood, when the young Joe Campbell was taken to see Buffalo Bill's Wild West Show at Madison Square Garden. He started writing articles on Native American mythology in high school, and the parallels between age-old myths and the mythic themes in literature and dreams became a lifelong preoccupation. Campbell's best-known work is The Hero with a Thousand Faces (1949), which became a New York Times paperback best-seller for Princeton in 1988 after Campbell's star turn on the Bill Moyers television program The Power of Myth. During his early years as a professor of comparative religion at Sarah Lawrence College, Campbell made the acquaintance of Indologist Heinrich Zimmer, a kindred spirit who introduced him to Paul and Mary Mellon, the founders of Bollingen Series. They chose Campbell's The Mythic Image as the culmination of the series, giving it the closing position--number one hundred. A lavishly illustrated and beautifully produced study of the mythology of the world's high civilizations, The Mythic Image received a front-cover review in the New York Times Book Review upon publication. Through the medium of visual art, the book explores the relation of dreams to myth and demonstrates the important differences between oriental and occidental interpretations of dreams and life.

Archetypes and the Collective Unconscious

Essays which state the fundamentals of Jung's psychological system: "On the Psychology of the Unconscious" and "The Relations Between the Ego and the Unconscious," with their original versions in an appendix.

Mythology

The world-renowned classic that has enthralled and delighted millions of readers with its timeless tales of gods and heroes. Edith Hamilton's mythology succeeds like no other book in bringing to life for the modern reader the Greek, Roman and Norse myths that are the keystone of Western culture-the stories of gods and heroes that have inspired human creativity from antiquity to the present. We follow the drama of the Trojan War and the wanderings of Odysseus. We hear the tales of Jason and the Golden Fleece, Cupid and Psyche, and mighty King Midas. We discover the origins of the names of the constellations. And we recognize reference points for countless works for art, literature and culture inquiry-from Freud's Oedipus complex to Wagner's Ring Cycle of operas to Eugene O'Neill's Mourning Becomes Electra Both a reference text for scholars of all ages and a book to simply enjoy, Mythology is a classic not to be missed.

The Invention of Hugo Cabret

Orphan, clock keeper, and thief, Hugo lives in the walls of a busy Paris train station, where his survival depends on secrets and anonymity. But when his world suddenly interlocks - like the gears of the clocks he keeps - with an eccentric, bookish girl and a bitter old man who runs a toy booth in the train station, Hugo's undercover life, and his most precious secret, are put in jeopardy. A cryptic drawing, a treasured notebook, a stolen key, a mechanical man, and a hidden message from Hugo's dead father form the backbone of this intricate, tender, and spellbinding mystery. With more than three hundred pages of original drawings, and combining elements of picture book, graphic novel, and film, Brian Selznick breaks open the novel form to create an entirely new reading experience. Here is a stunning, cinematic tour de force from a boldly innovative storyteller, artist, and bookmaker.

The Hours of Catherine of Cleves

Illustrating one of the great art treasures of the world, The Hours of Catherine of Cleves is a fifteenth-century illuminated manuscript containing a series of some of the most beautiful illustrations of the Bible ever made. Many of the great scenes from the Old Testament and many more from the New Testament are included, besides the Stations of the Cross and portraits of the saints.The work of an unidentified Dutch master painter, the manuscript was made for Catherine of Cleves on the occasion of her marriage to the Duke of Guelders. All the 157 surviving miniatures are reproduced to actual size and in exquisite color with gold, together with three samples of pages containing the Latin prayers. Page after page reveals the elaborate program and rich illumination of the original. The progression from beginning to end shows an artist increasing in skill, relying in his earlier work on tradition and later emerging as an independent artist of bold, clear colors, dynamic brushwork, and lively imagination. He stands as one of the supreme painters of fifteenth-century Northern Europe.Each page is accompanied by a descriptive and explanatory commentary by John Plummer. His introduction discusses the development of the Book of Hours as a liturgical form in general, and the history of the Cleves Hours specifically, and describes the place it holds in the history of Northern painting.

Will in the World

A young man from a small provincial town moves to London in the late 1580s and, in a remarkably short time, becomes the greatest playwright not of his age alone but of all time. How is an achievement of this magnitude to be explained? How did Shakespeare become Shakespeare? Stephen Greenblatt brings us down to earth to see, hear, and feel how an acutely sensitive and talented boy, surrounded by the rich tapestry of Elizabethan life, could have become the world's greatest playwright. A Pulitzer Prize and National Book Award Finalist.

Book Links

Book links

Book Links