WELL 1001: Nutrition & Weight Control / WELL 1002: Healthy Decision: Course Guide: Reference Works

An undertaking without parallel or precedent, this monumental volume encapsulates much of what is known of the history of food and nutrition. It constitutes a vast and essential chapter in the history of human health and culture. Ranging from the eating habits of our prehistoric ancestors to food-related policy issues we face today, this work covers the full spectrum of foods that have been hunted, gathered, cultivated, and domesticated; their nutritional make-up and uses; and their impact on cultures and demography. It offers a geographical perspective on the history and culture of food and drink and takes up subjects from food fads, prejudices, and taboos to questions of food toxins, additives, labelling, and entitlements. It culminates in a dictionary that identifies and sketches out brief histories of plant foods mentioned in the text - over 1,000 in all - and additionally supplies thousands of common names and synonyms for those foods.

An undertaking without parallel or precedent, this monumental volume encapsulates much of what is known of the history of food and nutrition. It constitutes a vast and essential chapter in the history of human health and culture. Ranging from the eating habits of our prehistoric ancestors to food-related policy issues we face today, this work covers the full spectrum of foods that have been hunted, gathered, cultivated, and domesticated; their nutritional make-up and uses; and their impact on cultures and demography. It offers a geographical perspective on the history and culture of food and drink and takes up subjects from food fads, prejudices, and taboos to questions of food toxins, additives, labelling, and entitlements. It culminates in a dictionary that identifies and sketches out brief histories of plant foods mentioned in the text - over 1,000 in all - and additionally supplies thousands of common names and synonyms for those foods.

OCyThis valuable book continues to fulfil the purpose of explaining the technical terms in nutrition and food processing.OCO Chemistry and Industry OCyA dictionary that fills a need and fills it well.OCO Institute of Meat Bulletin OCyThe book covers all aspects of food and nutrition scienceOC I use the dictionary on an almost daily basis.OCO British Nutrition Foundation Nutrition Bulletin The study of food and nutrition covers many disciplines, ranging from agriculture, biology, physics and chemistry to food technology, nutrition and medicine. As research on the links between food and health continues to expand, it is more important than ever that specialists in such areas as food processing and nutrition be familiar with the often unfamiliar terminology that differing disciplines use. This classic book meets that need. It provides succinct, authoritative definitions of over 6100 terms in nutrition and food technology (an increase of 20% from the previous edition). The book also includes nutrient composition data for 340 foods and an appendix with nutrient intake and other useful data. An essential reference for all involved in food scienceUpdated eighth edition of this classic book"