It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
BIOL 2215: Foundations of Microbiology: Course Tools: Home
Microbiology,falls under the general subject heading Biology.
The Library of Congress Classification system locates books on the library under the general call numbers listed below. The subject headings that appear below in bold may also be used to locate books in the library catalog as well as articles and other information in GALILEO. More specific subject headings may be useful depending on what topic you are researching.
To form a truly educated opinion on a scientific subject, you need to become familiar with current research in that field. And to be able to distinguish between good and bad interpretations of research, you have to be willing and able to read the primary research literature for yourself. Reading and understanding research papers is a skill that every single doctor and scientist has had to learn during graduate school. You can learn it too, but like any skill it takes patience and practice.
Call Number: Ref PN3373 .S56 (Main Campus and Camden Center Libraries
Publication Date: 2002-10-04
"In cooperation with the American Zoo and Aquarium Association." These encyclopedias are clearly the best zoological compilation that is available at the moment. Grzimek is one of the most renowned zoologists in the world, and his works were edited and supplied with material by today's highest-ranking zoologists.
Call Number: E-Book available through CCGA Libraries
Publication Date: 2001-12-01
This set offers accessible, easy-to-understand scientific information on nonhumans from the animal kingdom, from insects to reptiles to mammals. Topics include anatomy, behavior, classification, ecology, evolution, habitats, physiology, reproduction and d
Call Number: Ref QR358 .E53 2008 (Main Campus Library and Camden Center
Publication Date: 2008-08-01
Encyclopedia of Virology, Third Edition continues its success as the largest single reference source of current research in virology. Unique in its use of concise "mini-review" articles, this praised work covers biological, molecular, and medical topics concerning viruses in animals, plants, bacteria and insects. Now in five volumes, this new edition has been extensively revised and updated to reflect the 50% increase in identified and accepted viruses since the year 2000. With over 25% new chapters and over 1000 illustrations, this edition takes into account the new developments in virology research by including information on new emerging diseases such as avian flu, SARS and West Nile and the ability of some viruses to be used as agents of bioterrorism. Edited by leading Virologists Mahy and van Regenmortel, this third edition remains the number one all-inclusive source of information for virology researchers, students, and reference departments of academic, medical, and corporate libraries. * Extensive coverage on AIDS and HIV, viral immunology and vaccines, the economic importance and control of virus diseases, and the origin, history, evolution and phylogeny of viruses -NEW! * Four color throughout -NEW! * Sections on future perspectives that show the direction of current research * 25% NEW articles * Glossary of key terms for easy referencing * Information on viruses of human clinical interest, including the virus causing SARS -NEW! * More than 20% NEW virus classifications * The most recent information from the 8th International Committee on Taxonomy and Classification of Viruses -NEW! * Recommendations for further reading and a list of other relevant entries
Call Number: Ref PN3321 .C7 2001 (Main Campus and Camden Center Libraries0
Publication Date: 1905-06-01
This new edition is a complete revision of the Dartmouth Medal-winning set last revised in 1995. Covering a wealth of topics on the ethics of health professions, animal research, population control and the environment, the set helps researchers to consider the impact of new scientific knowledge and its potential to harm or benefit present and future generations. All bibliographies have been updated and new entries added--from cloning, to issues of privacy or censorship on the Web, cell-stem research, same-sex marriage, privatization of water access, animal rights and much more.
Includes a description of the Gammaproteobacteria (1203 pages, 222 figures, and 300 tables). This large taxon includes many well known medically and environmentally important groups. Especially notable are the Enterobacteriaceae, Aeromonas, Beggiatoa, Chromatium, Legionella, Nitrococcus, Oceanospirillum, Pseudomonas, Rickettsiella, Vibrio, Xanthomonas and 155 additional genera.
Encyclopedia of Evolution by Mark D. Pagel (Editor)
Call Number: Ref QH 360.2 .E2002 (
Publication Date: 2002-04-02
From the classic work of Darwin to current developments in such fields as psychology and economics, evolutionary biology is an increasingly powerful tool for understanding the natural world. Here in two volumes is a comprehensive, accessible, and authoritative guide to what we know about evolutionary biology, from the origins of species to the selfish gene and beyond. The Encyclopedia of Evolution covers the essentials of evolutionary biology in 370 original articles written by leading experts. The articles cover basic concepts and theories; models, methods, and findings; schools of thought; current controversies; biographies; and more. The Encyclopedia covers evolutionary thought in genetics, animal behavior, and every area of the life sciences, as well as in anthropology, psychology, linguistics, sociology, economics, medicine, philosophy, and other fields. There are hundreds of tables, charts, grtaphs, maps and other illustrations, bibliographies, cross-references and index. Designed for students and teachers in both high schools and colleges and universities, and scholars and scientists in the natural and social sciences, the Encyclopedia of Evolution will be the first point of access to this growing body of knowledge.
Plant Life by Bryan D. Ness (Editor); Christina J. Moose (Editorial Coordinator); Dawn P. Dawson (Editor-In-Chief); Salem Press Staff
Call Number: Ref PS374 .S35 G74 2005 (Camden Center Library)
Publication Date: 2002-11-01
A scientific yet easy-to-understand survey of topics pertaining to the plant kingdom and botany classes, Plant Life surveys 379 topics, from cell structure to classification, to economic, medicinal, cultural, and environmental issues. Each essay includes
Featuring over 300 large full-color illustrations, this comprehensive atlas shows how more than 150 disorders can disrupt the human body's equilibrium. It is designed to help healthcare professionals visualize disease processes and understand the rationales for clinical interventions. Introductory chapters illustrate basic pathophysiologic concepts including cells, cancer, infection, genetics, and fluids and electrolytes. Thirteen chapters organized by body system cover all major diseases, with illustrations, charts, and brief text on causes, pathophysiology, signs, symptoms, diagnostic tests, and treatment. This Second Edition includes 10 new disease entries and updated information throughout. Diagnostic test information now includes expected findings for the disorder
Purdue OWL has over 200 free resources including:
- Writing and Teaching Writing
- Grammar and Mechanics
- Style Guides
- ESL (English as a Second Language)
- Job Search and Professional Writing