Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Pod Casts from the journal Science
Biologica and Environmentall Sciences Links
Free lesson plans, interactives, videos, and animations to use with high school students. May also be useful for creating course presentations.
The Catalogue of Life
A quality-assured checklist of more than 1.3 million species of plants, animals, fungi and micro-organisms, about 70% of all those known to science. Led by Species2000, in partnership with ITIS.
EPA: Air Data
AirData gives you access to air quality data collected at outdoor monitors across the United States.
Protectedplanet.net allows you to search in any language to find information about individual protected areas.
Public Library of Science
PLS publishes open access, peer-reviewed articles on general biology, medicine, and related topics
Gateway to authoritative U.S. government science information; explore selected science websites by topic
Tree of Life Web Project
The Tree of Life Web Project (ToL) is a collaborative effort of biologists and nature enthusiasts from around the world. On more than 10,000 World Wide Web pages, the project provides information about biodiversity, the characteristics of different groups of organisms, and their evolutionary history (phylogeny).
Environmental History Bibliography
For over 60 years the Forest History Society (FHS) has monitored the world of publishing for books, articles, and dissertations written as history and dealing with the utilization, management of natural resources and and appreciation of nature. Originally the information was kept on index cards, then in 1977 was published in North American Forest and Conservation History: A Bibliography by Ronald J. Fahl (Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO Press, 1977). Since the early 1980s FHS has maintained the bibliography in a computer database, which is continually updated and searchable.
Evolution of the Conservation Movement
The Evolution of the Conservation Movement, 1850-1920 documents the historical formation and cultural foundations of the movement to conserve and protect America's natural heritage, through books, pamphlets, government documents, manuscripts, prints, photographs, and motion picture footage drawn from the collections of the Library of Congress.
LifeMosaic is hosting a set of 4 short videos on climate change and indigenous communities, for both awareness within indigenous communities and awareness of the impact that climate change and the decisions about climate change may have on those communities.
Integrated Taxonomic Information System (ITIS)
A partnership of federal US agencies to provide a standard taxonomic framework, supporting ecosystem management and biodiversity conservation
International Union for Conservation of Nature
The IUCN is a global organization concerned with developing conservation science and policy. Contains news and publications, as well as links to conservation databases. Addtitionally, there is a multimedia collection, containing video, audio, and photos
The leading conservation organization working around the world to protect ecologically important lands and waters for nature and people.
NOAA Habitat Conservation
The NOAA Fisheries Office of Habitat Conservation protects, restores, and promotes stewardship of coastal and marine habitat to support our nation's fisheries for future generations
Species 2000 is a "federation" of database organisations working closely with users, taxonomists and sponsoring agencies. The goal is to create a validated checklist of all the world's species (plants, animals, fungi and microbes)
U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service
News and information on conserving nature, endangered and invasive species, fisheries, migratory birds, pollinators, wetlands, wildlife refuges; student and educator pages
EPA's Report on the Environment
EPA's Report on the Environment (ROE) is an interactive resource that shows how the condition of the environment and human health in the United States is changing over time. Targeted for anyone interested in environmental trends, the ROE presents the best available indicators of national trends in five theme areas of interest to EPA: Air, Water, Land, Human Exposure and Health, Human Exposure and Health and Ecological Condition.
EPA Region 4 (Southeast)
Serving Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee and 6 Tribes
EPA (Environmental Protection Agency)
The mission of EPA is to protect human health and the environment.
Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Chage (IPCC)
The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) is the leading international body for the assessment of climate change. It was established by the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) and the World Meteorological Organization (WMO) in 1988 to provide the world with a clear scientific view on the current state of knowledge in climate change and its potential environmental and socio-economic impacts. In the same year, the UN General Assembly endorsed the action by WMO and UNEP in jointly establishing the IPCC.
National Invasive Species Information Center
Invasive species are plants, animals, or pathogens that are non-native (or alien) to the ecosystem under consideration and whose introduction causes or is likely to cause harm.
Department of Energy
The mission of the Energy Department is to ensure America’s security and prosperity by addressing its energy, environmental and nuclear challenges through transformative science and technology solutions.
Department of the Interior
The U.S. Department of the Interior is a Cabinet-level agency that manages America's vast natural and cultural resources. Secretary of Interior Sally Jewell heads our department, which employs 70,000 people, including expert scientists and resource-management professionals, in nine technical bureaus and various offices.
Environmental Protection Division
The Environmental Protection Division (EPD) of the Georgia Department of Natural Resources is a state agency charged with protecting Georgia's air, land, and water resources through the authority of state and federal environmental statutes. These laws regulate public and private facilities in the areas of air quality, water quality, hazardous waste, water supply, solid waste, surface mining, underground storage tanks, and others. EPD issues and enforces all state permits in these areas and has full delegation for federal environmental permits except Section 404 (wetland) permits.
Georgia Department of Natural Resources, Environmental Protection Division
From monitoring air quality to permitting underground storage tanks, the Georgia Department of Natural Resources' Environmental Protection Division protects and manages the state's air, water and land resources.
Southern Georgia Regional Commission
A regional planning and intergovernmental coordination agency which serves 45 municipalities and 18 counties in South Georgia.
Image Sources on Biology and other Sciences
The Cell: An Image Library
Interactive site of images, videos, and animations created by the American Society for Cell Biology. Need to spruce up a presentation, swipe an image to help communicate a point in lecture, or just learn more about cell structure or a biological process? Take a look here.
NOAA Photo Library
Photographic and artistic images from NOAA scientists, engineers, and other staff. Images of coastlines, fisheries, and from programs such as NOAA's Ark and Sailing for Science are all here. Get an image for your project or spruce up a presentation on an environmental, geological, or oceanographic topic
Open-i Biomedical Image Search Engine
Locate freely available biomedical images and selected text from PubMed Central and other sources.
Virtual Cell Animation Collection
Great animations of cell structures and functions--use in the classroom, for self-study, or as part of a presentation. There's even an app!
Thousands of images and centuries of medicine, science, society and culture. Wellcome Images is one of the world's richest and most unique collections, with themes ranging from medical and social history to contemporary healthcare and biomedical science.
Environmental Science News -- ScienceDaily