It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
BIOL 1107: Principles of Biology 2: Course Tools: Home
Biology,falls under the general subject heading of Science and Technology.
The Library of Congress Classification system locates books on the library under the general call numbers listed below. The subject headings that appear below in bold may also be used to locate books in the library catalog as well as articles and other information in GALILEO. More specific subject headings may be useful depending on what topic you are researching.
QH1-QH278.5 for Natural history
QH301-705 for Biology
QK1-QK989 for Botany
QL1-QL991 for Zoology (see SF1-1100 for animal husbandry)
To form a truly educated opinion on a scientific subject, you need to become familiar with current research in that field. And to be able to distinguish between good and bad interpretations of research, you have to be willing and able to read the primary research literature for yourself. Reading and understanding research papers is a skill that every single doctor and scientist has had to learn during graduate school. You can learn it too, but like any skill it takes patience and practice.
Call Number: Ref QL462.3 .E485 2003 (Main Campus Library and Camden Center Library)
Publication Date: 2003-03-19
The Encyclopedia of Insects is a comprehensive work devoted to all aspects of insects, including their anatomy, physiology, evolution, behavior, reproduction, ecology, and disease, as well as issues of exploitation, conservation, and management. Articles provide definitive facts about all insects from aphids, beetles and butterflies to weevils and yellowjackets. Insects are beautiful and dreadful, ravenous pests and devastating disease vectors, resilient and resistant to eradication, and the source of great benefit and great loss for civilization. Important for ecosystem health, they have influenced the evolution of other life forms on our planet including humans. Anyone interested in insects, from university professors and researchers to high school students preparing a report, will find The Encyclopedia of Insects an indispensable volume for insect information. * An unprecedented collection in 1,276 pages covering every important aspect of insects * Presents 270 original articles, thoroughly peer reviewed and edited for consistency * Features 1,000 figures and tables, including 500 full-color photographs * Includes the latest information contributed by 250 experts in 17 countries * Designed to save research time with a full glossary, 1,700 cross-references, and 3,000 bibliographic entries
Call Number: Ref QH427 .R43 2003 (Camden Center Library)
Publication Date: 2003-09-09
This reference provides clearly written, thorough coverage of the breadth of topics in modern genetics, genomics and proteomics. The author also includes a vast range of terms and concepts dealing with biochemistry, cell and developmental biology, immunology, hereditary diseases and molecular evolution. The nearly 25,000 alphabetically arranged entries in this work are explained in a concise yet detailed manner, including ample cross-references, references to literature and databases, tables and illustrations.
Call Number: Ref PN3373 .S56 (Main Campus and Camden Center Libraries
Publication Date: 2002-10-04
"In cooperation with the American Zoo and Aquarium Association." These encyclopedias are clearly the best zoological compilation that is available at the moment. Grzimek is one of the most renowned zoologists in the world, and his works were edited and supplied with material by today's highest-ranking zoologists.
Call Number: E-Book available through CCGA Libraries
Publication Date: 2001-12-01
This set offers accessible, easy-to-understand scientific information on nonhumans from the animal kingdom, from insects to reptiles to mammals. Topics include anatomy, behavior, classification, ecology, evolution, habitats, physiology, reproduction and d
Call Number: Ref QR358 .E53 2008 (Main Campus Library and Camden Center
Publication Date: 2008-08-01
Encyclopedia of Virology, Third Edition continues its success as the largest single reference source of current research in virology. Unique in its use of concise "mini-review" articles, this praised work covers biological, molecular, and medical topics concerning viruses in animals, plants, bacteria and insects. Now in five volumes, this new edition has been extensively revised and updated to reflect the 50% increase in identified and accepted viruses since the year 2000. With over 25% new chapters and over 1000 illustrations, this edition takes into account the new developments in virology research by including information on new emerging diseases such as avian flu, SARS and West Nile and the ability of some viruses to be used as agents of bioterrorism. Edited by leading Virologists Mahy and van Regenmortel, this third edition remains the number one all-inclusive source of information for virology researchers, students, and reference departments of academic, medical, and corporate libraries. * Extensive coverage on AIDS and HIV, viral immunology and vaccines, the economic importance and control of virus diseases, and the origin, history, evolution and phylogeny of viruses -NEW! * Four color throughout -NEW! * Sections on future perspectives that show the direction of current research * 25% NEW articles * Glossary of key terms for easy referencing * Information on viruses of human clinical interest, including the virus causing SARS -NEW! * More than 20% NEW virus classifications * The most recent information from the 8th International Committee on Taxonomy and Classification of Viruses -NEW! * Recommendations for further reading and a list of other relevant entries
Call Number: Ref PN1625 .C68 2003 (Camden Center Library)
Publication Date: 2002-11-19
Freshwater algae are among the most diverse and ubiquitous organisms on earth. They occupy an enormous range of ecological conditions from lakes and rivers to acidic peat swamps, inland saline lakes, snow and ice, damp soils, wetlands, desert soils, wastewater treatment plants, and are symbionts in and on many plants, fungi, and animals. In North America, the variety of freshwater habitats colonized by algae is very rich, and offers an enormous and fascinating range of environments for their study. They form the base of most aquatic food webs and are critical to studies of ecosystem health. Algal ecologists and taxonomists play an important role in the understanding of aquatic ecosystems: their biodiversity, productivity, interactions with other organisms, and water quality. This book provides in one volume a practical and comprehensive guide to the genera of freshwater algae known from North America. The format combines the necessary ecological, taxonomic and methodological information for all scientists working in aquatic environments, whether their specialty is in environmental monitoring and water quality assessment, biological composition, ecology, evolution, or molecular biology. Key Features * The first complete accounting of North America's freshwater algal genera in more than 50 years * Includes a guide to the current literature on species identification in each group of algae * High-quality photographs and drawings of more than 770 genera * A clear, easy-to-use introductory key to the diagnostic chapters * Synthetic chapters on freshwater habitats, use of algae in environmental assessment, and control of nuisance algae * Contributions from 27 experts in all areas of freshwater algae * Extensive literature citations * Companion volume of Ecology and Classification of North American Freshwater Invertebrates 2nd edition, edited by Throp and Covich
Call Number: Ref PN3321 .C7 2001 (Main Campus and Camden Center Libraries0
Publication Date: 1905-06-01
This new edition is a complete revision of the Dartmouth Medal-winning set last revised in 1995. Covering a wealth of topics on the ethics of health professions, animal research, population control and the environment, the set helps researchers to consider the impact of new scientific knowledge and its potential to harm or benefit present and future generations. All bibliographies have been updated and new entries added--from cloning, to issues of privacy or censorship on the Web, cell-stem research, same-sex marriage, privatization of water access, animal rights and much more.
Call Number: Ref PS374 .S35 G74 2005 (Camden Center Library)
Publication Date: 2002-11-01
A scientific yet easy-to-understand survey of topics pertaining to the plant kingdom and botany classes, Plant Life surveys 379 topics, from cell structure to classification, to economic, medicinal, cultural, and environmental issues. Each essay includes
Purdue OWL has over 200 free resources including:
- Writing and Teaching Writing
- Grammar and Mechanics
- Style Guides
- ESL (English as a Second Language)
- Job Search and Professional Writing