Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books, Articles and More
Use this box below to search the CCGA's Library GIL Catalog of Books
The catalog is used to find out if the library owns the book you want and where it is located on the shelf.
Home Access Requires Current Galileo Password
History falls under the Social Sciences.
In doing searches for this class assignment think about the "Who", 'What , "Where" and "When" of a historic person, place or event.
Recommended Tutorial Resources For History 2111/2112
Recommended History Databases For Finding Articles In GALILEO
History Reference Center
full-text history reference database designed for secondary schools, public libraries, junior/community colleges, and undergraduate research. The database features reference books, encyclopedias, non-fiction books, and history periodicals as well as thousands of historical documents, biographies of historical figures, photos, maps, and over 80 hours of historical video as well as periodical titles. Off-Campus Access Requires Current GALILEO Password
American History In Video
American History in Video provides 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles of video for the study of American history. Off-Campus Access Requires Current Galileo Password
Reference Books (For Background Information)
American Eras by
Call Number: Ref. E 169.1 .A47179 (Main Campus Library)
Publication Date: 1998-02-06
Part of a series providing detailed information on the eras of pre-twentieth century America, this volume includes articles covering headlines and headline makers, awards, achievements and other enlightening and entertaining facts the colonial era in the USA
Dictionary of American History by
Call Number: Ref 174 .D52 2003
Publication Date: 2002-12-11
Entries from previous editions have been updated and revised in light of historical developments and current scholarship, and more than 800 new entries cover recent events and topics not covered previously. For the first time, illustrations and maps are incorporated into the main body of the work; a collection of primary source documents appears in Volume 9.
The Encyclopedia of the American Revolutionary War by
Call Number: Ref E208 .E64 2006 (Camden Center Library)
Publication Date: 2006-09-28
This definitive scholarly reference on the American Revolution-written by acclaimed researchers and military experts from around the world-covers the causes, course, and consequences of the war and the political, social, and military origins of the nation.
Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century by
Call Number: Ref. E169.1 .E626 2001 (Main Campus and Camden Center Libraries)
Publication Date: 2000-12-13
While other resources focus on different aspects of the 19th century, such as the Civil War or immigration, this is the first truly comprehensive treatment to cover all aspects of 19th-century history including: population, politics and government, economy and work, society and culture, religion, social problems and reform, everyday life and foreign policy. This set includes more than 600 A-to-Z articles illustrated with more than 400 illustrations and maps, an exhaustive year-by-year chronology, original documents, tables and a complete index. Articles such as Exploration and Explorers, Slavery, Party Organization, Women's Rights, Education and more fulfill curriculum requirements of the National Standards for U.S. History.
The Encyclopedia of World War I by
Call Number: Ref. D510 .E53 2005 (Camden Center Library)
Publication Date: 2005-09-27
Featuring a wealth of new information and the work of acclaimed scholars from around the world, this monumental resource is the new standard reference on the 20th century's most influential conflict. * 1,219 A–Z entries covering military culture and tactics for all engaged armies in unprecedented depth, describing important events (the sinking of the Lusitania, the Arab revolt), cultural and political figures (Ferdinand Foch, Wilfred Owen), geopolitical agreements (the covenant of the League of Nations), social issues (the role of religions), and much more * 175 contributors, including scholars from the United States, Britain, China, Japan, Australia, France, Germany, Austria, and Scandinavia, giving this encyclopedia an unprecedented global perspective * A separate primary source volume with 195 official documents, diary entries, and letters from all types of people involved in the war, with introductory information to place the documents in historical context * An opening section of 35 battle and locational maps providing the geographic context necessary to understand how the conflict moved and where and why the battlefield stalled * Insightful introductory essays that discuss the root causes of the war, the catalyzing events that lead to the outbreak of war, an overview of the war itself, and a discussion of the long-term impact of the war, providing context for the A–Z entries that follow * A list of comparative military ranks, glossary, historiography, and general bibliography, plus a comprehensive chronology providing researchers and readers with a sense of time and relationship between the major events of the conflict
Encyc of the Great Depression by
Call Number: Ref E 806 .E 832004 2004 (Camden Center Library)
Publication Date: 2003-11-01
This new two-volume set encompasses nearly two decades of American history, beginning with the farm crisis of the mid-1920s, through the 1929 stock market crash, the gradual recovery during the 1930s with Franklin D. Roosevelt's New Deal and World War II. This wide-ranging, multidisciplinary encyclopedia features entries on depression-era politics, government, business, economics, literature, the arts, society and culture. While its main focus is on the Great Depression within the United States, the global impact of the economic slow-down is also examined through articles on Canada, Mexico, Australia, Europe, Africa and Asia.
The Encyclopedia of World War II by
Call Number: Ref D 740 .E516 2005 (Camden Center Library)
Publication Date: 2004-12-17
An unprecedented achievement in publishing—a multivolume encyclopedic resource, for both the general reader and specialist—on the central conflict of the 20th century, The Encyclopedia of World War II covers the entire scope of the Second World War from its earliest roots to its continuing impact on global politics and human society. * Over 1,400 A–Z entries, including lengthy biographies of individuals, studies of battles, details of weapons systems, and analyses of wartime conferences, crucial battlefield and diplomatic turning points, and lingering historical controversies * Over 270 contributors, including an unprecedented number of international authorities (many from Japan and China), giving the work a global perspective no other encyclopedia on World War II can match * A wealth of primary documents, ranging from official documents to personal correspondence, is included in a separate volume * An introductory section with 70 detailed geopolitical and military maps providing a clear orientation for proceeding with research into specific topics and events, as well as 300 photographs, illustrations, charts, and tables * Includes a discussion of military ranks of the major warring powers and a lengthy comparative table of officers and enlisted men
The Cold War, 1945-1991 by
Call Number: Ref D839.5 .C65 1992 (Camden Center Library)
Publication Date: 1992-12-01
This 3-volume guide to the rivalry between the United States and Soviet Union provides timely and comprehensive coverage of the most significant period in 20th-century history.
Citation Writing Resources
Online Writing Lab (OWL), Purdue University
Purdue OWL has over 200 free resources including:
* Writing and Teaching Writing
* Grammar and Mechanics
* Style Guides
* ESL (English as a Second Language)
* Job Search and Professional Writing
This tutorial provides the basics of citing sources when doing a research paper or project
Cite Your Sources
This guide covers a wide range of online resources as well as resources in the CCGA Libraries
, Business and Accounting
, Business and Commerce
, Class Guides
, College Success
, eBooks at CCGA
, Gay History
, Library Information/Skills
, Video Resources