Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The Research Process: A Step-By-Step Guide: 2c. Find Articles

This guide walks you through the steps of the research process.

Access to GALILEO

 

Off-campus access to GALILEO requires the GALILEO password.

To get the password, click here.

Print Periodicals

The Library subscribes to some print magazines, journals and newspapers.  The most recent issues can be found on display news the Juvenile Collection.  Back issues may be found in alphabetical order on the moveable shelving past the bookstacks.

Interlibrary Loan

If you come acress an article you need for your research, and the Library does not provide full-text access to it in print or eldectronic format, request it through our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service.

ILL requests can take up to 2 weeks to process, but generally costs nothing.

Article Databases

Article databases provide you with 24-7 access to magazine, journal and newspaper articles via the Internet.  To help you identify the most appropriate database for you topic/subject:

Consult the database description on the Browse by Subject tab, choose a subject, then a database and click on more to learn about the database.

Video used with persmission from North Carolina State University Libraries.

Article Formats

Depending on the database you are using, articles may be displayed in different formats:

  • Index: Includes only the article's citation information (e.g. author, title, date, volume, etc.). Neith a summary, nor the full-text of the article are available.
  • Abstract: Includes the article's citation information and a brief summary fo the article's content. Abstracts do not include the full-text article.
  • Full-text: Includes an electronic coy of the actual article. Depending on the database, the article may be available in HTML format, .pdf format (displays the article as it originally appreared in the magazine with graphics and pictures), or both.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Lynda Kennedy
Contact:
Clara Wood Gould Memorial Library

College of Coastal Georgia

One College Drive

Brunswick, GA 31520

912-279-5782

Tips for searching

  • Limit your search to articles that are available in full text and that are scholarly or peer-reviewed.
  • Sort your results by relevance to get the best articles at the top of the list.
  • Read the abstract of an article to get an idea of what it's about.
  • Use the subject descriptors to find more articles or to revise your search.