Skip to main content

A Century of The Titanic: 1912-2012: Websites

This libguide overviews the history, the people, and the legacy of the Titanic and provides sources for additional research

Websites

 

(Show dogs on the Titanic - April 10, 1912)

Websites for Further Research

 

Belfast Titanic Society

Information and pictures from the place where the Titanic was built.

Credo Reference (online database)

Ships of the World -- Online reference book containing an article on the RMS Titanic.

Encyclopedia Titanica 

Biographical information on all passengers and crew, articles, deck plans, pictures, a timeline, and more.

RMS Titanic, Inc. 

Homepage of the company formed in 1987 to explore the wreck and bring up artifacts; includes articles, frequently asked questions.

The RMS Titanic Radio Page

Info and pictures about the radio aspects of the Titanic disaster.

The Sinking of the Titanic by Jay Henry Mowbray 

Full-text of the 1912 book.

Titanic: A Screenplay 

Full-text of the screenplay of the James Cameron film.

The Titanic Casualty Figures 

Interesting statistical analysis of the casualties of the disaster.

Titanic e-Books and other information 

Click on Site Map and scroll down for links to the full text of Futility by Morgan Robertson, Sinking of the Titanic by Logan Marshall, Loss of the SS Titanic by Lawrence Beesley, and Titanic and Other Ships by Charles Lightoller, as well as lots of other information.

The Titanic/Futility 

Comparison of the 1898 and 1912 texts of Futility, the short novel by Morgan Robertson which predicted” the sinking of the Titanic, and the Titanic disaster. Also includes other information about the Titanic.

Titanic Historical Society, Inc. 

Homepage for the largest global organization dedicated to the Titanic, formed in 1963; includes articles, biographical information on passengers and crew, a museum, and more.

Titanic Inquiry Project 

Full-text transcription of the entire U.S. Senate and British inquiries into the disaster.

Titanic Magazine Articles

Full-text articles from magazines and newspapers published at the time of the sinking.

The Titanic-Nautical Society and Resource Center 

Lots of articles, pictures, parallels between 9/11 and the Titanic tragedy, and more.

Titanic Related Memorials 

Information with pictures of many of the memorials erected in the United States, France, England, Australia, and Ireland. Compiled by Phil Ottewell.

Titanic: The Experience 

Homepage for the first “permanent” Titanic exhibit in Orlando, Fla.

Titanic: The Movie 

Paramount Picture’s website about the Titanic and James Cameron’s movie; includes interviews, film clips, information on the ship, myths and rumors, and more.

Titanic: The Unsinkable Ship and Halifax 

Visit the graveyard where many of the victims of the Titanic were buried.

Titanic Worksheets 

Includes 30 downloadable fact sheets, crosswords, word searches, worksheets, and other activities.

Titanic’s Lost Sister

Companion website to the documentary broadcast on NOVA in 1997; includes information on the Britannic, sister ship to the Titanic.