Research Guides: BIOL 1102: Intro to Enviromental Science: Course Tools: Home

Books, Articles and More

Home Access Requires Current Galileo Password

Get GALILO Password

Environmental Science is an interdisciplinary academic field that includes: physical, biological and information sciences. These include ecology, biology , physics, chemistry, zoology, mineralogy, oceanology, limnology, soil science, geology, atmospheric science and geodesy. Research from these fields is used to study the environment and find solutions to environmental problems.

Environmental Science falls under the general subject heading of Science and Technology but more specific works can be found under Ecology.

The Library of Congress Classification system locates books on the library under the general call numbers listed below. The subject headings that appear below in bold may also be used to locate books in the library catalog as well as articles and other information in GALILEO. More specific subject headings may be useful depending on what topic you are researching.

GE Environmental sciences

GE70-90 Environmental education
GE170-190 Environmental policy
GE195-199 Environmentalism. Green movement
GE300-350 Environmental management

QC851-999 Meteorology. Climatology - Including the earth's atmosphere

QC974.5-976 Meteorological optics
QC980-999 Climatology and weather
QC994.95-999 Weather forecasting

TD Environmental technology. Sanitary engineering

TD159-168 Municipal engineering
TD169-171.8 Environmental protection
TD172-193.5 Environmental pollution
TD194-195 Environmental effects of industries and plants
TD201-500 Water supply for domestic and industrial purposes
TD419-428 Water pollution
TD429.5-480.7 Water purification. Water treatment and conditioning. Salinewater conversion
TD481-493 Water distribution systems
TD511-780 Sewage collection and disposal systems. Sewerage
TD783-812.5 Municipal refuse. Solid wastes
TD813-870 Street cleaning. Litter and its removal
TD878-894 Special types of environment -Including soil pollution, air pollution, noise pollution
TD895-899 Industrial and factory sanitation
TD896-899 Industrial and factory wastes
TD920-934 Rural and farm sanitary engineering
TD940-949 Low temperature sanitary engineering
TD1020-1066 Hazardous substances and their disposal

TJ807-830 Renewable energy sources

Find a Tutor On Campus and Online
by John Kissinger Last Updated Apr 17, 2024 4 views this year

CCGA Writing Center
CCGA Libraries Question Center
Live Chat with librarians, FAQ databases and other ways to contact us.
Perdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
This web site offers help and advice in writing and citing in MLA and APA styles

Recommended Reference Works In The CCGA Libraries

Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change by S. George Philander (Editor)
Call Number: Ref QC981.8 .G56 E47 2008 (Main Campus Library)
ISBN: 9781412958783
Publication Date: 2008-04-22
2008 Best Reference, Library Journal "The impact of global warming is rapidly evolving. This valuable resource provides an excellent historical overview and framework of this topic and serves as a general resource for geography, oceanography, biology, climatology, history, and many other subjects. A useful reference for a wide audience of business professionals and government officials as well as for the general public; essential for both academic and public libraries." --Library Journal "This is a useful set because of the individual country entries as well as the general-audience language . . ." -- Booklist (Starred Review) The Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change helps readers learn about the astonishingly intricate processes that make ours the only planet known to be habitable. These three volumes include more than 750 articles that explore major topics related to global warming and climate change--ranging geographically from the North Pole to the South Pole, and thematically from social effects to scientific causes. Key Features Contains a 4-color, 16-page insert that is a comprehensive introduction to the complexities of global warming Includes coverage of the science and history of climate change, the polarizing controversies over climate-change theories, the role of societies, the industrial and economic factors, and the sociological aspects of climate change Emphasizes the importance of the effects, responsibilities, and ethics of climate change Presents contributions from leading scholars and institutional experts in the geosciences Serves as a general resource for geography, oceanography, biology, climatology, history, and many other subjects The Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change provides a primarily nonscientific resource to understanding the complexities of climate change for academic and public libraries. READER'S GUIDE Atmospheric Sciences Climate climate and Society Climate Change, Effects Climate Feedbacks Climate Models Countries: Africa Countries: Americas Countries: Asia Countries: Europe Countries: Pacific Glaciology Government and International Agencies Institutions Studying Climate Change Oceanography Paleo-Climates People Programs And Conventions

A Dictionary of Environment and Conservation by Michael Allaby (Editor); Chris Park (Editor)
Call Number: Ref GE10 .P375 2013 (Main Campus Library)
ISBN: 0199641668
Publication Date: 2013-02-07
Thoroughly revised and updated to include the latest research in the field, A Dictionary of Environment and Conservation provides over 9,000 A to Z entries on scientific and social aspects of the environment - its key thinkers, treaties, movements, organizations, concepts, and theories.Covering subjects such as sustainable development, biodiversity, and environmental ethics, it is at the cutting edge of environmental and conservation studies.This is the ideal reference for students studying these subjects and anyone with an interest in environment and conservation.

Handbook of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy by Frank Kreith (Editor); D. Yogi Goswami (Editor)
Call Number: TJ163.3 .H356 2007
ISBN: 0849317304
Publication Date: 2007-05-07
Brought to you by the creator of numerous bestselling handbooks, the Handbook of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy provides a thorough grounding in the analytic techniques and technological developments that underpin renewable energy use and environmental protection. The handbook emphasizes the engineering aspects of energy conservation and renewable energy. Taking a world view, the editors discuss key topics underpinning energy efficiency and renewable energy systems. They provide content at the forefront of the contemporary debate about energy and environmental futures. This is vital information for planning a secure energy future. Practical in approach, the book covers technologies currently available or expected to be ready for implementation in the near future. It sets the stage with a survey of current and future world-wide energy issues, then explores energy policies and incentives for conservation and renewable energy, covers economic assessment methods for conservation and generation technologies, and discusses the environmental costs of various energy generation technologies. The book goes on to examine distributed generation and demand side management procedures and gives a perspective on the efficiencies, economics, and environmental costs of fossil and nuclear technologies. Highlighting energy conservation as the cornerstone of a successful national energy strategy, the book covers energy management strategies for industry and buildings, HVAC controls, co-generation, and advances in specific technologies such as motors, lighting, appliances, and heat pumps. It explores energy storage and generation from renewable sources and underlines the role of infrastructure security and risk analysis in planning future energy transmission and storage systems. These features and more make the Handbook of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy the tool for designing the energy sources of the future.

The Wiley Encyclopedia of Energy and the Environment, 2 Volume Set by Attilio Bisio (Editor); Sharon Boots (Editor)
Call Number: Ref TJ163.235 .E53 1995 (Main Campus Library)
ISBN: 047114827X
Publication Date: 1996-10-21
This book examines topics in energy production and use and explores how these technologies affect the environment. It also addresses legal and policy issues. It provides information in a clear and straightforward manner for readers without extensive scientific training.

Encyclopedia of Environmental Biology by William A. Nierenberg (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: Ref QH540.4 .E52 1995 (Main Campus Library)
ISBN: 0122267303
Publication Date: 1995-05-22
In today's world, knowledge about the environment and our relationship with it is extremely crucial. Academic Press proudly presents the Encyclopedia of Environmental Biology, a much-needed reference with detailed information on the environmental issues affecting you. Written for law offices, environmental groups, city planners, and government officials, these three volumes contain 150 expressly prepared articles exploring the impact of global change on plants, animals, and habitats. The Encyclopedia examines the causes and the cures of environmental degradation in an easy-to-use, comprehensive format. Key Features * A three-volume set including a complete subject index with more than 10,000 entries and a directory of contributors * 154 articles written by the world's leading scientists and approved by an independent review procedure * 150 halftones, 600 line drawings, and 100 tables complement the text * Easy-to-use and meticulously organized * Bibliographies at the end of each article allow easy access to the primary literature * 2114 pages in a large (8 1/2"x 11") double-column format for clarity and accessibility * Tailored to suit an international audience * Extensive cross-referencing system links related articles * 170 contributors from 16 countries * An eminent editorial board

Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy
Call Number: Ref GE42 .E533 2009 (Main Campus Library)
ISBN: 0028661370
Publication Date: 2008-10-15
The field of environmental ethics is a new but now well-established sub-discipline of philosophy. Emerging in the mid-1970s, the field coalesced with the inaugural volume of the journal Environmental Ethics in 1979 and developed rapidly. By the turn of the century, most colleges and universities offered courses, if not major programs of study, in this important discipline. The Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy addresses the needs of upper high school students, undergraduate researchers, teachers and professors, as well as general readers by examining the philosophical and ethical issues underlying contemporary and historical environmental issues, policies, and debates. More than 300 peer-reviewed articles cover concepts, institutions, topics, events and people, including global warming, animal rights, environmental movements, alternative energy, green chemistry, industrial ecology, and eco-sabotage. Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy joins the suite of other MacMillan applied ethics titles: Encyclopedia of Bioethics and the Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics. Additional features include 200 photographs and illustrations, thematic outline, annotated bibliography, and a comprehensive index.

Encyclopedia of Insects by Vincent H. Resh (Editor); Ring T. Cardé (Editor)
Call Number: Ref QL462.3 .E485 2003 (Main Campus Library and Camden Center Library)
ISBN: 0125869908
Publication Date: 2003-03-19
The Encyclopedia of Insects is a comprehensive work devoted to all aspects of insects, including their anatomy, physiology, evolution, behavior, reproduction, ecology, and disease, as well as issues of exploitation, conservation, and management. Articles provide definitive facts about all insects from aphids, beetles and butterflies to weevils and yellowjackets. Insects are beautiful and dreadful, ravenous pests and devastating disease vectors, resilient and resistant to eradication, and the source of great benefit and great loss for civilization. Important for ecosystem health, they have influenced the evolution of other life forms on our planet including humans. Anyone interested in insects, from university professors and researchers to high school students preparing a report, will find The Encyclopedia of Insects an indispensable volume for insect information. * An unprecedented collection in 1,276 pages covering every important aspect of insects * Presents 270 original articles, thoroughly peer reviewed and edited for consistency * Features 1,000 figures and tables, including 500 full-color photographs * Includes the latest information contributed by 250 experts in 17 countries * Designed to save research time with a full glossary, 1,700 cross-references, and 3,000 bibliographic entries

Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia by Gale Research Staff; Michael Hutchins
Call Number: Ref PN3373 .S56 (Main Campus and Camden Center Libraries
ISBN: 0787653624
Publication Date: 2002-10-04
"In cooperation with the American Zoo and Aquarium Association." These encyclopedias are clearly the best zoological compilation that is available at the moment. Grzimek is one of the most renowned zoologists in the world, and his works were edited and supplied with material by today's highest-ranking zoologists.

Animal Life by Carl W. Hoagstrom (Editor); Tracy Irons-Geroges (Editorial Coordinator); Dawn P. Dawson (Editor-In-Chief); Salem Press Staff
Call Number: E-Book available through CCGA Libraries
ISBN: 9781587650192
Publication Date: 2001-12-01
This set offers accessible, easy-to-understand scientific information on nonhumans from the animal kingdom, from insects to reptiles to mammals. Topics include anatomy, behavior, classification, ecology, evolution, habitats, physiology, reproduction and d

Freshwater Algae of North America by John D. Wehr (Editor); Robert G. Sheath (Editor); James H. Thorp (Contribution by); Patrick Kociolek (Editor); J. Patrick Kociolek (Editor)
Call Number: Ref PN1625 .C68 2003 (Camden Center Library)
ISBN: 0127415505
Publication Date: 2002-11-19
Freshwater algae are among the most diverse and ubiquitous organisms on earth. They occupy an enormous range of ecological conditions from lakes and rivers to acidic peat swamps, inland saline lakes, snow and ice, damp soils, wetlands, desert soils, wastewater treatment plants, and are symbionts in and on many plants, fungi, and animals. In North America, the variety of freshwater habitats colonized by algae is very rich, and offers an enormous and fascinating range of environments for their study. They form the base of most aquatic food webs and are critical to studies of ecosystem health. Algal ecologists and taxonomists play an important role in the understanding of aquatic ecosystems: their biodiversity, productivity, interactions with other organisms, and water quality. This book provides in one volume a practical and comprehensive guide to the genera of freshwater algae known from North America. The format combines the necessary ecological, taxonomic and methodological information for all scientists working in aquatic environments, whether their specialty is in environmental monitoring and water quality assessment, biological composition, ecology, evolution, or molecular biology. Key Features * The first complete accounting of North America's freshwater algal genera in more than 50 years * Includes a guide to the current literature on species identification in each group of algae * High-quality photographs and drawings of more than 770 genera * A clear, easy-to-use introductory key to the diagnostic chapters * Synthetic chapters on freshwater habitats, use of algae in environmental assessment, and control of nuisance algae * Contributions from 27 experts in all areas of freshwater algae * Extensive literature citations * Companion volume of Ecology and Classification of North American Freshwater Invertebrates 2nd edition, edited by Throp and Covich

Encyclopedia of Bioethics by Stephen G. Post
Call Number: Ref PN3321 .C7 2001 (Main Campus and Camden Center Libraries0
ISBN: 0028657748
Publication Date: 1905-06-01
This new edition is a complete revision of the Dartmouth Medal-winning set last revised in 1995. Covering a wealth of topics on the ethics of health professions, animal research, population control and the environment, the set helps researchers to consider the impact of new scientific knowledge and its potential to harm or benefit present and future generations. All bibliographies have been updated and new entries added--from cloning, to issues of privacy or censorship on the Web, cell-stem research, same-sex marriage, privatization of water access, animal rights and much more.

Bergey's Manual of System Bacteriology by George Garrity (Editor-In-Chief); Don J. Brenner (Editor); Noel R. Krieg (Editor); James R. Staley (Editor)
Call Number: PS153 .N5 G73 2005
ISBN: 0387241442
Publication Date: 2005-07-26
Includes a description of the Gammaproteobacteria (1203 pages, 222 figures, and 300 tables). This large taxon includes many well known medically and environmentally important groups. Especially notable are the Enterobacteriaceae, Aeromonas, Beggiatoa, Chromatium, Legionella, Nitrococcus, Oceanospirillum, Pseudomonas, Rickettsiella, Vibrio, Xanthomonas and 155 additional genera.

Encyclopedia of Evolution by Mark D. Pagel (Editor)
Call Number: Ref QH 360.2 .E2002 (
ISBN: 0195122003
Publication Date: 2002-04-02
From the classic work of Darwin to current developments in such fields as psychology and economics, evolutionary biology is an increasingly powerful tool for understanding the natural world. Here in two volumes is a comprehensive, accessible, and authoritative guide to what we know about evolutionary biology, from the origins of species to the selfish gene and beyond. The Encyclopedia of Evolution covers the essentials of evolutionary biology in 370 original articles written by leading experts. The articles cover basic concepts and theories; models, methods, and findings; schools of thought; current controversies; biographies; and more. The Encyclopedia covers evolutionary thought in genetics, animal behavior, and every area of the life sciences, as well as in anthropology, psychology, linguistics, sociology, economics, medicine, philosophy, and other fields. There are hundreds of tables, charts, grtaphs, maps and other illustrations, bibliographies, cross-references and index. Designed for students and teachers in both high schools and colleges and universities, and scholars and scientists in the natural and social sciences, the Encyclopedia of Evolution will be the first point of access to this growing body of knowledge.

Plant Life by Bryan D. Ness (Editor); Christina J. Moose (Editorial Coordinator); Dawn P. Dawson (Editor-In-Chief); Salem Press Staff
Call Number: Ref PS374 .S35 G74 2005 (Camden Center Library)
ISBN: 1587650843
Publication Date: 2002-11-01
A scientific yet easy-to-understand survey of topics pertaining to the plant kingdom and botany classes, Plant Life surveys 379 topics, from cell structure to classification, to economic, medicinal, cultural, and environmental issues. Each essay includes

Citation Writing Resources

Online Writing Lab (OWL), Purdue University
Purdue OWL has over 200 free resources including:
- Writing and Teaching Writing
- Research
- Grammar and Mechanics
- Style Guides
- ESL (English as a Second Language)
- Job Search and Professional Writing

Assembling a list of works cited
Excellent resource from Duke University for citing numerous sources, in all standard styles of citation

Citation Components
This tutorial provides the basics of citing sources when doing a research paper or project

Cite Your Sources
This guide covers a wide range of online resources as well as resources in the CCGA Libraries

Your Librarian

John Kissinger

Email Me

Contact:

CCGA Camden Center
Camden Center Library
8001 Lakes Blvd.
Kingsland, GA

912-510-3332

Subjects: Biology, Business and Accounting, Business and Commerce, Class Guides, College Success, eBooks at CCGA, Education, English, Faculty, Gay History, History, Humanities, Library Information/Skills, Psychology, Research, Shakespeare, Tutoring/Help, Video Resources

BIOL 1102: Intro to Enviromental Science: Course Tools: Home

Books, Articles and More

Recommended Tutorial Resources

Recommended Reference Works In The CCGA Libraries

Citation Writing Resources

Your Librarian