Skip to main content

Researching Art and Art History: Image Resources

GALILEO Images

Arts of the United States is a image database of more than 4,000 images, dating from the 14th to the 20th centuries. It is available through GALILEO

Other art and art history databases available through GALILEO include:

Related Research Guides:           What is GALILEO?

Google's 'Art Project'

Amit Sood is the head of Art Project, a Google initiative to bring the world's art museums onto the web. Visit it at googleartproject.com.

Images on the Web

The sites below offer excellent images for research in art and art history and are especially good for illustrating a research paper or creating a class presentation. See the Web Resources tab for many other resources.

American Memory Project -- Created by the Library of Congress, American Memory is a gateway to rich primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. The site offers more than 7 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections.

Art Images for College Teaching -- AICT is a personal, non-profit project of its author, art historian and visual resources curator Allan T. Kohl. AICT is intended primarily to disseminate images of art and architectural works in the public domain on a free-access, free-use basis to all levels of the educational community, as well as to the public at large. The collection focuses on ancient, medieval, and Renaissance European art and architecture.

ArtProject.com -- A unique collaboration of over 150 acclaimed art museums in 40 countries. The search capabilities are very clunky and it is recommended to use the Search by Museum category to browse. Create and share your own "collections."

Bridgeman Art Library -- Excellent image database containing images from over 8,000 collections and more than 29,000 artists, Bridgeman provides a central source of fine art and historical images for users. Based in London but focus is international in scope.

Visual Arts Data Service (VADS) -- A well-designed site with focus on fashion, craft, 2D design, and contemporary artists working in the United Kingdom and internationally. It is a repository for many special collections in the UK. Its more than 100,0000 images include collections such as the African & Asian Visual Artists Archive, a comprehensive archive of contemporary visual art by artists of African and Asian descent working in the UK since the post-war period, and NICE Paintings (NICE stands for National Inventory of Continental European).

Web Gallery of Art -- WGA is a virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture from 11th to mid-19th centuries. Content focuses on the Renaissance period, the Medieval roots of the period and its evolution to Baroque and Rococo via Mannerism. More recently Neoclassicism, Romanticism and Realism were also included.