Skip to Main Content
List of Open Access Videos O-Z
- Open Video Project
A University of North Carolina project to create free repository of archival, documentary and educational video.
- PBS Learning Media
Developed by PBS, WNET, and KET, and 31 other PBS stations. Content contributed from publicly funded organizations, including the National Archives, the Library of Congress and NPR, NASA, the National Science Foundation, the National Institutes of Health and the US Department of Education, delivers thousands of resources for use in the classroom and with home-schoolers. Content aligns with Common Core State Standards for preK-16 classrooms. This collection contains more that than 114,000 research-based instructional resources – including videos, interactives, images, audio files, mobile apps, lesson plans, and worksheets. Requires personal registration on the site.
- PBS Great Performances
Classical music, opera, popular song, musical theater, dance, drama, and performance documentaries.
- PBS Video
Provides access to selected programs from selected PBS series (such as Nature, American Experience, Nova, and Frontline, among others.) Users can browse by Programs, Topics, or Collections. Individual programs are subdivided into smaller segments.
- PopTech
Videos of global tech innovators.
- P.O.V. Video
Provides a selection of full length films, short films, and lesson plan based clips from the acclaimed PBS documentary film series POV.
- ScienceCinema
Contains multimedia videos highlighting the U.S. Department of Energy's scientific research. State-of-the-art audio indexing and speech recognition technology allows the user to search for specific words and phrases spoken by the presenter in these video files. Simply enter a term and the results list will point to the precise snippets of the video where the term was spoken.
- Scripps Library and Multimedia Archive
The Scripps Library and Multimedia Archive serves as a research facility for scholars of U. S. public policy....The Library's multimedia collection is a truly unique collection of material on U. S. public policy. The Library's multimedia archive includes more than 2,500 hours of secret White House recordings, hundreds of presidential oral history interviews, audio and video recordings of Miller Center Forums, and documents related to the executive branch of American government. The Library's digital archive on the American presidency is over 3 terabytes in size and growing.
- Society of Biomaterials Video Library
The surgical video library was created to bridge a difficult gap between classroom theory and clinical application. This library has a wide variety of surgical films which can be sorted through by search, alphabet, or category.
- SnagFilms
Provides access to full-length documentary films from established distributors and first-time filmmakers. The Snag Films library includes more than 850 films. Filmmakers and distributors submit titles to SnagFilms for curatorial review. Videos stream in Flash. The site organizes titles by broad Topics (such as Arts, Environment, Health, History, Women's Issues, etc.) and by Channels (including well-established film companies such as Alive Mind, Icarus, Fanlight, PBS, and National Geographic). The SnagFilms website encourages donating to causes by linking each film to a specific charity. Brief commercials precede and are interspersed through the video playback.
- Thanhouser Films Online
More than 50 films provide a representative cross section of the output produced by the Thanhouser film enterprise based in New Rochelle, New York between 1910 and 1917. The films were assembled over the past 25 years with the cooperation of archives around the world, including The Library of Congress in Washington, DC, The British Film Institute in London, England, George Eastman House in Rochester, New York, The Museum of Modern Art in New York, New York, the Academy Film Archive in Los Angeles, California, the EYE Film Institute Netherlands in Amsterdam, Holland, and from the Thanhouser collection. Each film includes a summary and analysis written by film historian Victor Graf. Andrew Crow, Raymond A. Brubacher and Ben Model composed and performed original musical accompaniment commissioned exclusively for this collection.
- UC Berkeley Media Resources Center Online Media
A collection online video and audio recordings of notable lectures, events, and readings held at University of California, Berkeley. This database includes both video materials accessible by the general public, and videos licensed for access by current University of California, Berkeley students, faculty, and staff only (CalNet authentication required). Audio recordings in the collection are accessible by all users. Access to the videos in the collection requires Windows Media player. Macintosh users will need the free Flip4Mac plug-in. Access to the audio recordings in the collection requires the Real player. The site includes a simple keyword search interface. Linked from within this site are audio, video, and text files from the UC Berkeley Library Social Activism Sound Recording Project. This collection includes information onf the Free Speech Movement, the Black Panther Party, Anti-Vietnam War Protests in the San Francisco Area and Beyond, and LGBT History.
- UMedia Archive (UMN)
Discover and learn about the rich collections available through the UMedia Archive.
- USDA Food Safety Videos
View the various food safety and inspection streaming videos and audio files available from the Food Safety and Inspection Service.
- USDA Youtube Channel
The USDA YouTube channel contains over 300 videos of video features, training videos and speeches related to the U.S. Department of Agriculture.
- Veoh
Provides access to videos from major content publishers like CBS, ABC, WB, MTV Networks, ESPN, Sony/BMG and Lions Gate, other video sites like YouTube and Hulu, as well as independent filmmakers and content producers. Users can sort content by type using pull-down menus for Videos, TV Shows, or Movies, each with sub-menus including categories such as Documentary & Biography. Brief commercials precede video playback. Watching full-length videos via Veoh requires installation of the Veoh Web Player.
- Vimeo
Vimeo is a well known video sharing site specializing in user-generated content, media production howto videos, independent films, and educational video (several universities have an official Vimeo channel).
- Wellcome Film: Digitizing Medical History
Online collection of moving images on 20th-century healthcare and medicine. Over 450 titles - 100 hours of historical film and video - have been transferred and are freely available under Creative Commons licences.
- WGBH Lab
Categorized stock video clips from WGBH TV, this collection contains tons of rights-free archival footage perfect for creating mashups or short videos.
- WGBH Open Vault
Provides online access to unique and historically important content produced by the public television and radio station WGBH. The ever-expanding site contains video, audio, images, searchable transcripts, and resource management tools, all of which are available for individual and classroom learning.
- Wikimedia Commons
Wikimedia Commons is a media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content including images, sound and video clips.
- YouTube Movies
YouTube Movies provides access to thousands of commercial films (mostly Studio) across most popular film genres. Though many films require a rental cost, there are hundreds of free films legally available in this section, some of which are public domain others, shared with permission from the rights holder.
