Skip to main content

Nursing: GALILEO Databases

Try these first.

Remember you will need to know the GALILEO Password to use these off campus.

Other Nursing Databases in GALILEO

Remember you will need to know the GALILEO Password to use these off campus.

  •  Academic Search Complete

    Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database is updated daily and features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for nearly 1,000 journals.

  •  CINAHL

    CINAHL provides indexing for 2,928 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1981. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters. Searchable cited references for more than 1,200 journals are also included. Full text material includes 72 journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.

  •  Health Source: Nursing / Academic Edition

    Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides over 500 scholarly full-text journals focusing on nursing, allied health fields, and many medical disciplines. Patient education sheets from the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide are also included. Titles in this database include: Creative Nursing, Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, and Nursing Inquiry.

  •  MEDLINE with Full Text (at EBSCOhost)

    MEDLINE with Full Text combines the National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database with links to the complete text of articles from leading medical journals. The database offers information related to the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. MEDLINE with Full Text provides full text for over 1,300 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, most have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE. MEDLINE with Full Text includes over 500 titles not included in Academic Search Complete.

  •  ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Source

    ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides users with reliable health care information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. This database is designed to meet the needs of researchers at health care facilities as well as nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions.

    ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source also provides evidence-based nursing information from The Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI). These include Systematic Reviews, Evidence Summaries, and Best Practice Information Sheets. The JBI's evidence-based approach opens a new world of education resources, with critical appraisal and meta-analysis that is highly respected and unquestioned in the field.

    In addition, study paths are provided to find key topics and recommended reading. The curriculum-based topic tree connects users to appropriate articles on specific topics. A board of experienced nurse educators have hand-selected the most relevant results for a wide range of subjects.

  •  Research Library (at ProQuest)

    Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects and includes full-text access for thousands of titles, including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.


Subject Guide

Lynda Kennedy's picture
Lynda Kennedy
Contact:
Clara Wood Gould Memorial Library

College of Coastal Georgia

One College Drive

Brunswick, GA 31520

912-279-5782

Access to GALILEO

 

GALILEO

Off-campus access to GALILEO requires the GALILEO password.

To get the password you must know your Patron Barcode (your CCGA Student ID #), your PIN (if you don't have your PIN, you click Get My PIN then it will be e-mailed to you), and your last name. 

You will need your PIN to log onto your account online. This includes getting the GALILEO password, viewing the list of items you have checked out, renewing materials, making requests for materails from libraries or schools, and reviewing the status of requested materials